Princeton's United Nations Collection holds and otherwise provides access to meeting records and other publications of the United Nations, its External or Specialized Agencies, and the League of Nations. Also included are reference materials to support the study of those bodies. The collection is located on the second floor of Firestone Library. Princeton's United Nation's Librarian, and the United Nation's Collection Manager provide reference assistance with United Nations materials. The Collection services the Princeton University academic community and research visitors from outside the University Community, and provides advanced support for college and high school students preparing for Model UN work.
The United Nations Collection at Princeton is one of the longest established United Nations Depository Libraries in the world, dating from the depository program's inception in 1946, and provides deep and rich holdings for both the UN and the League. It is comprehensive for the main bodies of the and selective for the Specialized (External) Agencies. Materials are of three principal types: Meeting Records,Sales Publications, and Specialized Agency materials. Reports are also held. In all categories indexes and publications in electronic format are an important part of Princeton's United Nations Collection. Both the United Nations and many Specialized Agencies and other U.N. Bodies maintain their own web sites which are important additional sources of information and documentation. The Economic Commissions are especially strong in this regard. There are five: Africa (includes Egypt), Asia and the Pacific (includes many states of former Soviet Union), Western Asia (the Arab countries of the Middle East, includes Egypt), Europe (also includes many states of former Soviet Union), and Latin America and the Caribbean.
