Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies
Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.
Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.
Εθνικό Αρχείο Διδακτορικών Διατριβών: On-line catalog of Greek dissertations.
HELIOS: Open-access repository of EKT documents and publications.
PANDEKTIS: Digital collection of "primary sources for Greek history and culture."
Beaton, Roderick. An Introduction to Modern Greek Literature. 2nd ed., rev. and expanded. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1999.
(F) (SHS) PA5225.B43 1999
This introduction covers literature from 1821 to 1992. There is an elucidating chapter on the "language question."
Dimaras, Konstantinos. A History of Modern Greek Literature (Historia tes neoellenikes logotechnias, translated by Mary P. Gianos). Albany: State University of New York Press, 1972.
(F) (SHS) PA5210.D513
A now classic in the field addressing Modern Greek Literature before the Turkish Domination; Hellenism from 1453-1669; 1669-1774; 1774-1820; the War of Independence and its consequences for literature; Greek romanticism; the "New School of Athens"; (after Palamas)-1922.
Philippides, Dia M.L. Census of Modern Greek Literature: Check-List of English-Language Sources Useful in the Study of Modern Greek Literature (1824-1987). New Haven, CT: Modern Greek Studies Association, 1990.
(F) (SHS) Z2294.C8 P46 1990
Excellent resource for anyone wishing to acquaint her/himself with the works by and about modern Greek authors in English.
Polites, Linos. A History of Modern Greek Literature. Oxford: Clarendon Press, 1973.
(F) (SHS) PA5210. P6
Should be used in tandem with Dimaras' work. The focus of Polites' work is somewhat different. He divides his history up in the literature before the Fall of Constantinople (11th-15th centuries); after the Fall (15th-17th centuries); the "Great Age of Cretan Literature (1570-1669); Modern Greek Enlightenment (18th century); the "Demotic Song"; te 19th-20th centuries (Solomos, Kalvos, Palamas (the "New Athenian School"); prose after 1880--the 'Genre" Story, the Language Question, Psycharis; Kavafis, Sikelianos (poetry up to 1930); The generation of 1930 in poetry and prose. There is an appendix with texts of poems quoted, chronological tables, and a select bibliography.
