The Princeton University Library is a not a single building, but a system composed of many libraries and hundreds of collections. The Harvey S. Firestone Memorial Library, at the corner of Washington Road and Nassau Steet, is the largest of these libraries, with more than 70 miles of shelving housing some six million printed volumes.
Firestone is an open-stack library, i.e. you can retrieve the items you need yourself and take them to the Circulation Desk on the 1st floor if you wish to borrow them. Note that not all libraries or collections are open-stack. Rare Books and Special Collections on the C floor in Firestone is a closed-stack area, whose items do not circulate. The Marquand Library of Art and Archaeology is open-stack, but its collections do not circulate.
Layout of the Firestone Library:
The library has 6 floors; the numbered floors (1-3) are above ground and the lettered ones (A-C) below ground.
Circulation Desk: Here is where you charge out and return items you have borrowed. For visiting fellows who are at Princeton for more than 3 months, the loan period is the academic year; for visiting fellows here for less than 3 months, the loan period is 8 weeks. Note: You must have your Princeton University ID activated at the Circulation Desk before you can borrow materials from the library or use Borrow Direct.
The Trustee Reading Room (General and Humanities Reference Collection) (DR): Here you will find dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, atlases, biographies, etc.
A Floor (the floor immediately below the 1st Floor)
Hellenic Studies Reading Room (SHS): The coordinates are A-12D-2. This room contains two computers for catalog and database searching. The large desk is equipped with several electric outlets for laptops. Note: There is no printer in this room. If you need to print, please go to the computer terminals on the 1st Floor. There are also a few reference works and current periodicals in the general area of Greek studies in SHS. Please note: You must charge out any library item you wish to keep in SHS.
Near East Graduate Study Room (SNE): The coordinates are A-12D-1.
B-floor Computer Cluster: Here you will find six iMac computers, one with a scanner, and several Windows workstations. The Microsoft Office suite is loaded on all computers for word processing and e-mail. The iMacs and PCs are networked to a single printer.
Photoservices: Book scanners are located on all floors; there is NO CHARGE for their use. Photocopiers are located on the B and C floor. The cost of a black-and-white photcopy is 10 cents. The color copier on the C Floor charges $1.00 per copy. Copies are paid for either by a prepaid photocopy card available for purchase at the Circulation Desk (in denominations of $5, $10, and $25, plus $1 for the card itself), or by money deposited on your ID (PAW points). These deposits can be made at the Frist Campus Center's Value Transfer Station or online at the TigerCard Online Card Office.
The C Floor contains the bulk of our circulating collection. It is currently under renovation, and some of its sections are not accessible for open-stack browsing. However, books in these areas can be paged and then retrieved at the Circulation Desk.
Rare Books and Special Collections: Here you will find rare editions and manuscripts related to Greece. For a list of the manuscript collections, see the Modern Manuscript Collections tab. In addition, there are a large number of manuscripts from the ancient Near East; literary and documentary papyri from Egypt; Arabic, Persian, Turkish, and other Islamic texts; medieval and Renaissance manuscripts and documents. To view a list of all available finding aids, please consult: PU Finding Aids. In order to consult these collections, you must be registered for a research account.
Classics Graduate Study Room (SCG, SCL, SC, and SCP): The coordinates are 3-15-G. This study room is kept locked though all Princeton borrowers can gain access (you can either knock on the door or you can ask at the Circulation Desk for assistance); if you anticipate that you will need consistent access to the room, let me know and I will have your name and ID number added to the access list. The circulating Classics collection (Clas) is located just outside this room.
Please note: Firestone Library and many other libraries on campus separate oversize books from regular size ones. Oversize items are identified by by the letters q, f or e (for quarto, folio, or elephant folio) at the end of the call number and, in Firestone, by pink call number signs on the stacks.
Firestone Library Call Numbers and Locations.
Map of Campus Libraries: for the physical location of libraries besides Firestone, e.g., the Marquand Library (SA), which holds works on classical, medieval, Byzantine and Islamic art and archaeology. Visiting and Post-doc research fellows also have access to the collections of the Princeton Theological Seminary (PTS) Library though registration is required to receive a PTS borrowing card.
On each floor, by the elevators, there are floor maps showing the coordinates (letters running north-south and numbers east-west) as well as a compass rose on most floors to help you orient yourself.
The Library's home page is the gateway to library catalogs, databases, e-journals, etc.
The New Catalog is where you should search to locate the call number of an item in the Princeton libraries. You can search by title, author, subject, keyword, or call number. There are a number of more advanced features in the Advanced Search. To search the catalog for Greek titles, please see the following transliteration table. Princeton uses the ALA-LC system, column 4.
If you cannot locate an item in the Main Catalog, search WorldCat (the world's largest bibliographic database). You can initiate an Interlibrary Loan request through WorldCat by clicking on in a title's "Detailed Record." If an item is charged out, you may need to recall the item or use Borrow Direct (for books) to obtain a copy from another library.
You also have access to a large number of databases (online indexes, electronic texts). Choose Databases from the Library home page to browse or search for them.
When Princeton does not own a book or our copy is check out or otherwise unavailable, use Borrow Direct to obtain a copy from another library. Borrow Direct is a rapid, patron-initiated borrowing and lending service offered by Princeton University Library and eleven partner libraries--Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Duke, Harvard, Johns Hopkins, MIT, the University of Chicago, the University of Pennsylvania, and Yale.
The "H: drive," as it is commonly called, provides every Princeton user on campus a central network server. You can access your H: drive from an off-campus computer by establishing a Secure Remote Access connection (SRA).
Your H: drive is also mapped in the OIT Clusters on the B Floor. You can visit the OIT Solutions Center in Frist on the 100 level to register and configure your laptop for the network. For help with computer configurations, etc., you can also call the OIT Help Desk at 258-4357 (8-HELP).
A laptop can be borrowed for 3 hours from the Firestone Circulation desk or from Marquand Library. Machines are equipped with the Microsoft Office suite of software and cables (long and short) for connecting to the Internet at worktables throughout the library. You can print from your laptop to a Print Release Station.
In order to gain full access to Princeton's wireless network, you must register your wireless device with OIT's Host Database or contact Carolyn Hoeschele, the computer support person for the Program in Hellenic Studies (firstname.lastname@example.org).
Print Release Stations are available on the 1st, A, B and C Floors of Firestone Library. See here for instructions.
Wayne Bivens-Tatum, Philosophy and Religion, X86367
Bobray J. Bordelon, Economics, X83211
Stephen Ferguson, Rare Books, X83165
Jeremy Darrington, Politics, X8-3254
Alan Stahl, Numismatics, X89127
David Jenkins, Classics, Hellenic Studies and Linguistics, X85811
Steven Knowlton, American History, X80496
Alain St. Pierre, European & African History, X82964
Rebecca Friedman, Art and Archaeology, X83163
Thomas Keenan, Russian and Slavic Studies, X83592
Don C. Skemer, Manuscripts, X83186
For additional subject specialists, see Subject and Reference Specialists under Research Help on the Library home page.