Primary Sources & Special Collections: Latin America, Spain and Portugal : Primary Sources & Special Collections

The Major Collections section to the right and the tabs near the top of this page direct to a wide range of archives, documents, manuscripts, ephemera, prints and collections from and about Latin America and the Iberian Peninsula held by the Princeton University Library.  Links to catalog records or finding aids that describe in considerable detail the contents of the collections are provided whenever relevant.

Most of the collections listed here are available in the Department of Special Collections, in the Microforms Collection, or online.  Also included are a small number of collections from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) which are easily available to Princeton affiliates through Borrow Direct.

This is by no means a comprehensive list of primary sources available at Princeton.  Additional resources may be identified searching the Library Catalog or by exploring the resources listed under Beyond Princeton.

For a narrative survery of Princeton's major holdings of primary sources ranging from the 16th century to the 20th century, please read The Search for Latin America: Sources at Princeton.

Each year, the Friends of the Princeton University Library offer short-term grants to promote scholarly use of the Library's Special Collections. Grants are meant to help defray expenses incurred in traveling to and residing in Princeton during the tenure of the grant.

Additional information can be found in the Library Research Grants web page. 

• Archives of Latin American Writers and Intellectuals in Special Collections
  Find here a list of all the collections of correspondence and papers from Latin American writers, cultural figures, and intellectuals held by the Manuscripts Division, and links to their finding aids.

• Princeton University's Latin American Ephemera Collection
  This guide serves as an introduction to the Library's vast collection of ephemera documenting political and social movements, as well as a wide variety of socioeconomic and cultural developments.
• Graphic Arts Collection
  Some Latin American highlights of this collection are:
   
  • Lorenzo Homar Collection
    [Descriptive blogpost]
     
  • Juan Pascoe and Taller Martín Pescador Collection
    [Descriptive blogpost]
     
  • Taller de Gráfica Popular prints and posters
     
  • Asamblea de Artistas Revolucionarios de Oaxaca (ASARO) prints and posters
    [Descriptive blogpost]
     
  • Paintings and drawings by Severo Sarduy
    [Descriptive blogpost]
     
• Mesoamerican Manuscripts at Princeton
  Special Collections houses one of the world's great collections of Mesoamerican Manuscripts. Most of them can be found in Princeton's Digital Library. 
   
• Robert L. Ross Collection of Latin American Medals and Orders
  The collection spans two centuries from the rise of movements for political independence through to the present. It includes the Spanish religious-military orders that had their origin in the Crusades and the Reconquista, the first medals issued in colonial Latin America, the many decorations awarded during the nineteenth century, and a new generation of twentieth-century republican orders for diplomatic, military, political, and cultural achievements.
   
• Public Policy Papers at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library
  The following are some of the collections containing significant documentation related to Latin America:
   
• Norman Armour Papers
• George W. Ball Papers
• Arthur Ballard Papers
• American Civil Liberties Union Records: Subgroup 1: The Roger Baldwin Years
• Council on Foreign Relations Records
• Allen W. Dulles Papers
• John Foster Dulles Papers
• Franklin Book Programs Records
• Freedom House Records
• Peter H. B. Frelinghuysen Papers
• Arthur Garfield Hays Papers
• Albert O. Hirschman Papers
• Edwin W. Kemmerer Papers
• Robert Lansing Papers
• W. Arthur Lewis Papers
• George S. McGovern Papers
• David A. Morse Papers
• Dana Gardner Munro Papers
• Rubber Development Corporation, Amazon Division Records
• H. Alexander Smith Papers
• Adlai E. Stevenson Papers
• William Cattell Trimble Papers
• Women's World Banking Records
• Harry Dexter White Papers
• Joshua Butler Wright Papers

Illustration: Burundanga babilónica. Print by Lorenzo Homar, 1970. Lorenzo Homar Collection, Graphic Arts Collection, Princeton University Library.

For news about new acquisitions, holdings, and resources, visit the Latin American Collections blog. Visitors may subscribe in order to receive updates via email. 

Argentina
Barbados
Belize
Bolivia
Brazil
Chile
Colombia
Costa Rica
Cuba
Dominican Republic
Ecuador
El Salvador
Grenada
Guatemala
Guyana
Haiti
Honduras
Jamaica
Mexico
Nicaragua
Panama
Paraguay
Peru
Portugal
Puerto Rico
Spain
Trinidad & Tobago
Uruguay
Venezuela
Caribbean
Central America
South America
Latin America