Guide to the Latin American Ephemera Collections at Princeton: Ephemera Collections Home

What's in this Guide

This guide lists by country and subject area all of the collections of Latin American ephemera that the Princeton University Library has developed since the late 1960s (approximately 350).  A corresponding call number is provided for each collection as well as links to finding aids or to catalog records that for the most part describe in considerable detail the contents of the collections. Click on the tabs near the top of this page to find the information.

Finding Aids

Highly detailed, item level finding aids currently exist for 96 of the Latin American ephemera collections listed in this guide. Those finding aids may also be browsed or cross-searched at the Library's Finding Aids Site.

Latin American Posters Digital Collection

Princeton's Latin American Posters Collection,a growing subset of the broader collections of Latin American ephemera, is currently available in digital format.

About the Collections

Privileging the popular voices of the region, the Latin American ephemera collections document numerous political and social movements, and a wide variety of key socioeconomic and cultural developments. Some particularly well-documented topics are grassroots organizing, human rights, electoral politics, indigenous issues, women and gender issues, youth, the environment, health, education, and religion. Types of primary materials collected include pamphlets, flyers, non-commercially produced and distributed serials, posters, working papers, government publications, and other non-traditional formats. Most of the documentation in the collections was produced between the mid 1960s and the recent past by Latin American nongovernmental organizations of all types, interest groups, political parties, research institutes, and government agencies.

Over the years, materials have been grouped and organized by country or region, and by topic or subject area. The extension of the collections varies considerably with many containing hundreds of items and some, particularly the older collections, containing only a handful. Once collections are fully organized, they are cataloged and microfilmed. Original print materials have been preserved in many cases. The collections listed in this guide include all of the relevant collections that appear in the Guide to the Princeton University Latin American Microfilm Collection (Wilmington, DE: Scholarly Resources, 1993) and its subsequent supplements.

The intensive collecting of ephemera was initiated by Barbara Hadley Stein, the University's first Bibliographer for Latin America, Spain and Portugal (1966-1977). She sought to document some of the major political developments of the period, including the rise to power of military dictatorships, coup d'états, the institutionalization of the Cuban Revolution, and the popular responses to those developments. Her successor, Peter T. Johnson (1977-2003), expanded the geographic and thematic scope of the collections and systematized the process of organizing, cataloging, and preserving them. Intensive collecting in this area continues to this date.

Access to the Collections

At Princeton

All of the Latin American ephemera collections are available in microfilm format. Library users must request the microfilms at the Microforms Service area in Firestone Library.

Original materials have been preserved in many cases and are housed and serviced by the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. The availability of original materials is indicated in this guide by the appearance of a Rare Books (Ex) call number. 

When planning a visit to either library location, keep in consideration that some of the less frequently used microfilm sets and all of the original print materials are housed in the Recap remote storage facility and must be requested in advance. 

Interlibrary Loan

All of the microfilm sets are available through Interlibrary Loan from Princeton or from several other research libraries that also own copies of the microfilm.

Getting copies of the microfilm

Any of the collections may be acquired in microfilm format from Primary Source Media.

Research assistance

Contact:
Fernando Acosta-Rodríguez
Librarian for Latin American, Iberian and Latino Studies
facosta@princeton.edu
Firestone Library B-14-P
Tel. (609) 258-3193
Fax (609) 258-6950