Skip to main content

Latin American Ephemera in Microfilm and Special Collections: What's in this Guide

What's in this Guide

This guide lists by country and subject area all of the thematic sub-collections of Latin American ephemera that the Princeton University Library organized and microfilmed since it started collecting in the 1970s until the release of the Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera in early 2015. 

A corresponding call number is provided for each sub-collection as well as links to finding aids or to catalog records that for the most part describe in considerable detail their contents. Click on the country name tabs near the top of this page to find the information.

Please note that this extensive component of the Latin American Ephemera Collection remains accessible only by visiting Firestone Library in person or through interlibrary loan. Its contents are not available in the Digital Archive. 

Princeton Access

All of the Latin American ephemera sub-collections listed in this guide are available in microfilm format. Library users must request the microfilms at the Microforms Service area in Firestone Library.

Original materials have been preserved in many cases and are housed and serviced by the Department of Rare Books and Special Collections. The availability of original materials is indicated in this guide by the appearance of a Rare Books (Ex) call number. 

When planning a visit to either library location, keep in consideration that some of the less frequently used microfilm sets and all of the original print materials are housed in the Recap remote storage facility and must be requested in advance. 

Remote Access

Interlibrary Loan

All of the microfilm sets are available through Interlibrary Loan from Princeton or from several other research libraries that also own copies of the microfilm.

Getting copies of the microfilm

Any of the sub-collections may be acquired in microfilm format from Primary Source Media.

Research Assistance

Contact:
 
Fernando Acosta-Rodríguez
Librarian for Latin American, Iberian and Latino Studies
facosta@princeton.edu
Firestone Library B-14-P
Tel. (609) 258-3193