Research Guides: SAS 321 The Politics of Pakistan: Weekly Syllabus Links

General ebrary books

Pakistan: Eye of the Storm
Owen Bennett Jones, Yale University, 2009 (3rd edition)
Frontline Pakistan: The Struggle with Militant Islam
Zahid Hussain, I.B. Tauris, 2007

Week 1 (7 February)

Introduction and Overview of the Course

Eqbal Ahmad--Obituary in the Economist
Eqbal Ahmad--Obituary in the Guardian
Special Report--Pakistan. Perilous Journey
Audio supplementing the special report by Banyan (Simon Long)
General Ashfaq Pervez Kayani Full Speech at PMA Kakul 13th August 2012

Week 2 (14 February)

Partition and its Legacy

Mr. Jinnah's presidential address to the Constituent Assembly of Pakistan August 11, 1947
Muhammad Ali Jinnah Quaid E Azam addresses to the nation on partition on 15 August 1947
Center of South Asian Studies film collections--Williams Collection
2 films. B&W. India/Pakistan. August-October 1947. From 8mm original. Films made by Major C. H. Williams.
Refugee camps. Casualties. British and Indian military relief forces. Jawaharlal Nehru visiting refugee camps. Refugees receiving food supplies.
Schedule of Partition related films to be shown at Princeton
14 Feb: Jinnah (Jamil Dehlavi)
1 March: 1947 - Earth (Deepa Mehta)
29 March: Partition (Ken McMullen/Tariq Ali)
12 April: Garm Hava (M.S. Sathyu)
3 May: Khamosh Pani (Sabiha Sumar)

Week 3 (21 February)

Building a Nation

Also Pakistan--Part 1
Dawn, Nadeem F. Paracha | 9th February 2012
Also Pakistan--Part 2
Dawn, Nadeem F. Paracha | 24th May, 2012
Also Pakistan--Part 3
Dawn, Nadeem F. Paracha | 26th July, 2012
Also Pakistan--Part 4
Dawn, Nadeem F. Paracha | 9th August, 2012
Also Pakistan--Part 5
Dawn, Nadeem F. Paracha | 27th September, 2012
Also Pakistan--The Final Cut
Dawn, Nadeem F. Paracha | 22nd November, 2012
Concrete ‘progress’: irrigation, development and modernity in mid-twentieth century Sind
Daniel Haines, Modern Asian Studies / Volume 45 / Special Issue 01 / January 2011, pp 179-200
Everyday expectations of the state during Pakistan's early year: letters to the Editor, Dawn (Karachi), 1950-1953
SARAH ANSARI (2011). Modern Asian Studies, 45, pp 159-178
Mohammed Ali Jinnah
Encyclopedia Britannica online
INDIA. 1947-1948. Muhammad Ali JINNAH, first Governor of Pakistan. 1948.
Photo by Henri Cartier-Bresson, 1947
ARTstor
more...less...
To view image from ARTstor, the browser must allow popups
The Roots of Elite Alienation
Arif Hasan. Economic and Political Weekly: 4550-4553, 2 November 2002

Week 4 (28 February)

Pakistan at War

For those interested in more detailed analysis of defense and security issues, we subscribe to IHS Jane's Defense & Security Intelligence & Analysis. Try some keyword searches on this site, or refine your search by fine tuning the region and country checkboxes.

"The Changing Pakistan Army Officer Corps"
Christine Fair and Shuja Nawaz, Journal of Strategic Studies 34(1): 63-94, 2011
IHS Jane's Defense & Security Intelligence & Analysis
Many analytic reports on Pakistan, both concerning internal developments, and concerning relations with other nations
"My Drone War"
Pir Zubair Shah, Foreign Policy: 1-9, March/April 2012
Pakistan: Eye of the Storm
Owen Bennett Jones, Yale University Press, 2003.
more...less...
For the most recent edition, the print (2009) edition is in Firestone Library.
Pakistan's ISI: the Invisible Government
Sean P. Winchell, International Journal of Intelligence and Counter Intelligence 16: 374-388, 2003
"Who Killed Zia?"
Barbara Crossette, World Policy Journal: 94-102, Fall 2005

Week 5 (7 March)

War and Peace in the Nuclear Age

AP Images
Try searches in Associated Press images database, using keywords such as "nuclear Pakistan"
Divali Greeting Card for the year 1998/99, depicting the Hindu pride in India's nuclear tests
From Christiane Brosius, Celebrating More Than the New Year: The Hindu Nationalist Greeting Cards in Tasveer Ghar: A Digital Archive of South Asian Popular Visual Culture
Fevered with Dreams of the Future: the coming of the atomic age to Pakistan
Zia Mian in South Asian cultures of the bomb [electronic resource] : atomic publics and the state in India and Pakistan / edited by Itty Abraham, 2009
Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan
Many archival documents concerning Pakistan nuclear security issues are available via this Archives Direct collection
Nuclearization and Pakistan Popular Culture since 1998
Iftikhar Dadi, South Asian cultures of the bomb [electronic resource] : atomic publics and the state in India and Pakistan / edited by Itty Abraham, 2009
Pakistan’s Nuclear Weapons: Proliferation and Security Issues
Paul K. Kerr, Mary Beth Nikitin, Congressional Research Service, February 13, 2013
Who's Afraid of the Bomb (Part 1)
Dawn News Pakistan. YouTube video
Who's Afraid of the Bomb (Part 2)
Dawn News Pakistan. YouTube video
Who's Afraid of the Bomb (Part 3)
Dawn News Pakistan. YouTube video

Week 6 (14 March)

The National and the Local Economy

For additional background the Economist Intelligence Unit provides current and archived monthly Pakistan Country Forecasts from 2009 to the present. As of today (March 7th) the most recent Pakistan Country Forecast is February 2013.

The Eclipse of Feudalism in Pakistan
Arif Hasan, Himal, 16 November 2012
Historical Impacts on Political Economy in Pakistan
Imran Ali, Asian Journal of Management Cases: 129-146, 2004
Land Rights and the Indus Flood 2010: Rapid Assessment and Policy Review
Azmat Budhani and Haris Gazdar, Oxfam Research Report: pp. 80-20, June 2011
Leveling the Playing Field: A Survey of Pakistan's Land Reforms
Nazish Brohi, "Caught Between a Rock and a Hard Place" (p. 66-75), "A Field of One's Own" (p. 76-86) and "Fishing in Troubled Waters" (p. 87-95)
PANOS South Asi, March 2011
Migration, small towns and social transformations in Pakistan
Arif Hasan, Environmenet and URbanization 22: 33-50, 2010
Necessity Pushes Pakistani Women into Jobs and Peril
Adam B. Ellick, New York Times, December 26, 2010
Pakistan, Drowning in Neglect
Ali Sethi, New York Times, August 25, 2010
Pakistan Flood Impact Assessment
World Food Program, September 2010
The Political Economy of Growth Without Development: A Case Study of Pakistan
William Easterly, Paper for the Analytically Narratives of Growth Project, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University: p. 1-53, June 2001
The Undercities of Karachi
Jan Breman, New Left Review, July/August 2012
Women Who Work Struggling to Provide
Adam P. Ellick, New York Times, December 26, 2010--Video

Week 7 (28 March)

Identity, Ethnicity and Conflict

A useful tool for mapping out religious affiliations worldwide is the World Religion Database. See especially the Country: Pakistan links.

The Bitter Harvest: Sectarianism in Balochistan
Middle East Research and Information Project 251, Summer 2009
Class, Caste, or Race: Veils over Social Oppression
Economic and Political Weekly: 86-88, January 13, 2007
'Counter-insurgencies' in Pakistan
Economic and Political Weekly: 1952-1953, May 20, 2006
I am Hazara
Dawn, 2012
Language and Ethnicity in Pakistan
Tariq Rahman, Asian Survey 37(9): 833-839, September 1997
Nationalism
P. 43-75 in Owen Bennett Jones, Pakistan: Eye of the Storm, Yale, 2009
Pakistan: The Worsening Conflict in Balochistan
Asia Report No. 119, 14 September 2006
Revisiting the Che Guevara-like Days of Baloch Resistance Movement with Asad Rahman
Posted by Malik Siraj Akbar on October 19, 2009, WordPress Blog
Religious Minorities in Pakistan
Iftikhar H. Malik, Minoraity Rights Group International: p. 3-28, 2002

Week 8 (4 April)

Islam, Politics and the State

Blasphemy and the Governor of Punjab ... a Modern Murder Story
Owen Bennett-Jones, BBC radio play, September 2012
Destiny and Devotion
Rory McCarthy, The Guardian, 16 May 2003, pp. 1-7
The Rise of Sunni Militancy in Pakistan: the changing role of Islamism and the Ulama in Society and Politics
S. V. R. Nasr, Modern Asian Studies 34 (1): 139-180, 2000
World Almanac of Islamism
American Foreign Policy Council. "A comprehensive resource designed to track the rise or decline of radical Islam on a national, regional and global level. This database focuses on the nature of the contemporary Islamist threat around the world, and on the current activities of radical Islamist movements worldwide"