Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Industry Research for Entrepreneurs: Power tools for Engineers and Scientists

Basic steps to follow for researching industries when writing a business plan.

Web of Science (1900+)

Web of Science is the most complete and comprehensive citation tracking database with coverage from 1900 to the present. It provides thorough coverage of ~5900 major journals. Includes cited author searching. Abstracts, keywords, and additional subject categories are included and searchable from 1991+. (Video Tutorial)

ScienceWatch.com - Summarized Publication and Citation Data from Thomson Scientific for the Analysis of Research Trends & Performance. Visual representations of leading scientific literature track the ground breaking papers in various scientific fields.

INSPEC and Compendex

INSPEC and Compendex on Engineering Village

For all major engineering, computer science, physics and applied science topics these two databases represent the major access point to the literature. This is the place to start any literature search!

Scopus (1996+)

Welcome to Scopus

International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences and social sciences; provides citation tracking for journal articles and conference papers from 1996 to the present.

SciVerse Hub - a search and discovery tool for the working researcher.