Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SoA Senior Thesis Research: Theses & Dissertations

This guide will help ground you in resources available on campus while also offering research strategies developed to save you time but cover your bases.

Architecture Related Theses & Dissertations - @ Princeton and Elsewhere

Princeton Specific

Dissertations & Theses: Covers scholarship from most U.S. universities with some international coverage. Full text coverage begins with 1997+ but indexing includes scholarship dating back to 1861. To search PU Dissertations, following this link to a subset of the Proquest Dissertations. 

SoA Design Theses: The School of Architecture maintains an archive of student theses from 1930s through the present. To search the index of projects or access the collection, contact the Visual Resources Curator. This collection includes both graduate aand undergraduate projects. 

Princeton Senior Theses Database: A search catalog of senior theses written from 1929 through the present. Approximately 60 000 records are included but not all departments are represented (SoA is). Searchable by author, advisor, department, or year. The Mudd Manuscript Library collects and maintains the primary copies in print, on mcirofilm, and online for theses published from 2013. All Senior Theses can also be found in Books+

SoA Library Senior Thesis Collection:  The School of Architecture Library has a small subset of SoA senioir theses.  These essays can be found in the library Main Catalog or Books+ by an author search or by a call number browse search for "Sen. Th." Many of these theses have not been formatted for primary copy but rather include color images, fold-outs, dust jackets, etc. This small collection does not circulate. 


Architecture Theses & Dissertations Beyond Princeton

Harvard's Graduate School of Design: A guide for finding masters theses and doctoral dissertations specific to the GSD. 

MIT Architecture Dissertations & Theses: A basic list organized by author of the thesis or dissertation. Each entry includes the title of the work, brief "where are they now" info, and links to the works in MIT's Barton catalog.

UC-Berkeley's Guide to Architecture & Environmental Design Theses and Dissertations: Explains how you can find these works in the UCB system.

Architecture Association's School of Architecture Theses: Theses can be searched via the online catalogue by selecting the 'AA Theses' search on the right hand side.

Georgia Tech College of Architecture Theses & Dissertations Database

Illinois Institute of Technology's list of theses by students in the College of Architecture.

UMass-Amherst's Architecture Masters Theses Collection

UIUC's Depts. of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning Checklist: links to pages with basic details about theses, projects, and dissertations from the Departments of Landscape Architecture and Urban Planning up to 2006 (update pending). THis link will take you to the dedicated Landscape Architecture Thesis Database.