Skip to main content

African American Studies: Newspapers

Repositories, Libraries, etc.

Center for Research Libraries

Searchable catalog of African American newspapers on microfilm held by the Center for Research Libraries and available via interlibrary loan.  Some titles are drawn from the Library of Congress microfilm collection of Miscellaneous Negro Newspapers, and the Underground Newspaper Collection.  Digital copies of eight key newspapers are available, including The New York Age (1887-1892), The Colored American (1837-1841), and The Christian Recorder (1899-1901).

Internet Public Library 

Online newspapers from the Caribbean and around the world.

Library of Congress. Black Press Held by the Library of Congress 

Print and microfilm collections at the Library of Congress.

_______________.  Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages from 1836-1922.  To identify and access the small number of digitized African American newspapers represented in the project thus far, use “all digitized newspapers 1836-1922” tab, then click the ethnicity drop-down menu to select African American.

University of North Carolina. African American Newspapers in North Carolina “This guide lists African American newspapers published in North Carolina from the 19th-century through the present. Most of these titles are held in the North Carolina Collection in Wilson Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. This is an attempt to list every African American newspaper published in the state, but we recognize that there may be omissions and welcome suggestions. This guide was prepared by Russell Michalak, August 2005, and updated by Sarah Everhart, May 2009.”

Wisconsin Historical Society African American Newspapers and Periodicals 

A major repository of African American newspapers and periodicals on microfilm.

Afro Newspaper Morgue Collections

Afro Newspaper Morgue Collections

“The Afro Newspaper Morgue Collections were compiled by Afro employees assigned to the newspaper's "morgue" room. Whenever a story was completed, these employees meticulously filed away the materials related to the story, arranging them by subject matter. These materials often included photographs, many of which ran in the newspaper weekly, and others that did not make it to print. Also included were article clippings related to the designated subject and any other ephemera that could help Afro writers whenever they need supplementary information for stories.”

Black Press Research Collective

"The Black Press Research Collective (BPRC) is an interdisciplinary group of scholars committed to generating digital scholarship about the historical and contemporary role of black newspapers in Africa and the African Diasporas."

The Maynard Institute

"The Maynard Institute for Journalism Education -  We promote diversity in the news media through improved coverage, hiring, business practices & training programs that equip journalists with leadership, multimedia skills and subject expertise for news organizations across platforms. Our primary mission is to ensure that all segments of our diverse society are fairly, accurately and credibly portrayed."

National Association of Black Journalists

"The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) is an organization of journalists, students and mediarelated professionals that provides quality programs and services to and advocates on behalf of black journalists worldwide."