Skip to main content

African American Studies: Newspapers

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library

Caribbean Newspaper Digital Library

The CNDL is a cooperative digital library for newspaper resources from the Caribbean and cirrum-Caribbean.  CNDL provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean newspapers, gazettes, and other materials on newsprint currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.  CNDL will have on-going newspaper digitization, expanding the geographic, temporal, political and linguistic variety of the newspapers.

Access Newspaper Archive

Access Newspaper Archive

Includes newspapers from the United States, Canada, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Jamaica, Japan, South Africa, United Kingdom, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Newspapers from Jamaica

         Colonial Standard (1872-1877)

         De Cordovas Advertising Sheet (1858)

         The Gleaner (1834-2008)

         Jamaica Guardian (1868)

         Monday Star (2007)

         Star (2007)

         Thursday Star (2007)

         Tuesday Star (2007)

         Voice, The (2007)

         Wednesday Star (2007)

         Weekend Star (2007)

Newspaper from the U.S. Virgin Islands

         Daily News of Virgin Islands, (Saint Thomas, VI) 1960

News and broadcast media

ABYZ News Links    

Links to online newspapers & other news sources worldwide. Primarily composed of newspapers but also includes many broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, & press agencies.

See Caribbean newspapers and news media guide.

Digital Library of the Caribbean

“The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.”

Abeng (Feb. 21-Aug. 27, 1960) The weekly Abeng newspaper (February 1 - September 27, 1969) was published in response to the Black Power and protest movement that emerged after the ban on Dr. Walter Rodney, the Guyanese and University of the West Indies historian, who was prohibited from landing in Kingston on October 15th, 1968 after attending a Black Writers conference in Montreal, Canada.

Keesing's Record of World Events Online  (1931+)  

Monthly digest of worldwide political, diplomatic and economic affairs.

Newspaperindex.com

Links to online newspapers and top newspaper websites from the Caribbean and around the world.  

Proquest Newspapers

Search the full collection of newspapers, including The Weekly Gleaner (2002+)

Other print and digital newspapers

Caribbean Contact.  Bridgetown, Barbados. Vol. 9, no. 5, Sept. 1981 – vol. 20, no. 4 Aug. 1994 (incomplete) LACKS: v. 9, no 12; v. 10, no. 4; v. 11, no. 10; v. 12, no. 2; v. 12, no. 4-v. 14, no. 10; v. 15, no. 9; v. 17, no. 12; v. 18, no. 10-12 (Annex A, Forrestal) Oversize F2155 .C3635q

Tapia, 1969-1976 (Digital Library of the Caribbean)  

Trinidad & Tobago Review.  Vol. 2, no. 1 (Sept. 1977)-v. 23, no. 7-8 (Independence, 2001) (incomplete) LACKS: v. 2, no. 3; v. 4-5; v. 7, no. 2, no. 5-12; v. 8, no. 1-6; v. 10, no. 5; v. 15, no. 5-6; v. 18, no. 7-9; v. 20, no. 1-3; v. 22, no. 3-4; v. 23, no. 3-4 (Annex A, Forrestal) Oversize AP6 .xT7