Skip to main content

African American Studies: Newspapers

Radical press

Alternative Press Collection [microform]. Ann Arbor, MI: University Microforms International, 1989- [MICROFILM S01161] An important collection of U.S. alternative newspapers and periodicals, 1986-present. See also the previous title, Underground newspaper collection, which covers 1963-1985, at MICROFILM S00846. There is a printed guide at FilmB Z6951.A473 Microfilm is available in Microform Services, Firestone Library.

Alt-Press Watch Full text alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Begins with 1991. Select the "Publications" tab for title-by-title coverage. Includes both U.S. & foreign titles; no way to limit to U.S. only.

The Black Panther.  Oakland, Calif.] : Black Panther Party, Ministry of Information.  MICROFILM S00846 For holdings and access to reels see: Underground press collection. Listing of contents (Film B) Z6951.U4).   Also in Annex A, Forrestal, Oversize 0921.183f Location has: Vol. 2 (Sept. 1968)-v. 17, no. 17 (Oct. 15, 1977). LACKS: v. 5, no. 28; v. 11, no. 2, 4; v. 12, no. 6-12; v. 15, no. 21, 27; v. 16, no. 12, 16-19, 24.  See also digital copies of the Black Panther newspaper in Black Thought and Culture database, for the years 1967-1980.

Underground Newspaper Collection, 1963-1985

Alternative and underground newspapers from the United States and Canada. A few titles from the 60s include Black Liberator (1969), Black Politics (1968-1969), Black Vanguard (some issues lack numbering and date), and Black Star.  MICROFILM S00846 For holdings and access to reels see: (FilmB) Z6951.U4.  Microfilm is available in Microform Services, Firestone Library.