Skip to main content

African American Studies: Newspapers

Full text newspapers

Access World News (NewsBank)    

Provides full-text of the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, New Pittsburgh Chronicle, and many other USA and international newspapers.

America's Historical Newspapers  (1690-1922)  

Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.  Includes access African American Newspapers, 1827-1998.

Early American Newspapers  (1690-1922)  

Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.

Ethnic NewsWatch (1960+)

Interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish), full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.  Provides full text access to the Baltimore Afro-American (2003+), Chicago Defender (1989+), Cleveland Call & Post (1989+), Los Angeles Sentinel(1989+), Michigan Chronicle (2006+), and the New York Amsterdam News (1989+).

Gale News Vault  (Varies depending on newspaper)  

Browse by title or place of publication to identify African American newspapers, and Black newspapers published in Barbados, Jamaica, and Canada. 

NewsBank (Access World News)    

Provides full-text of the Atlanta Daily World, Chicago Defender, Los Angeles Sentinel, Michigan Chronicle, New Pittsburgh Chronicle, and many other USA and international newspapers. 

Palmer's Full Text Online & Index to the Times  (1790-1905)  

Digital edition of Palmer's index to the Times of London. Also includes full text for 1800 to 1870. For complete full text (1785-1985), see Times (London) Digital Archive.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers 

Coverage depends on the newspaper. Atlanta Daily World  (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988); Cleveland Call and Post  (1934-1991);  Chicago Defender   (1910-1975); Indianapolis Star  (1903-1922); Los Angeles Sentinel  (1934-2005); New York Amsterdam News  (1922-1993); Norfolk  Journal and Guide  (1921-2003); Pittsburgh Courier  (1911-2002); Philadelphia Tribune  (1912-2001); St. Louis Post and Dispatch  (1874-1922).

 

News digests

Facts on File Issues and Controversies

Facts on File News Services

A digest of major news stories around the world.

Databases with some coverage of the Black press

Black Studies Center

Scholarly essays and access to articles in Black Studies journals. Combines the Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals (IIBP), and the full-text of theChicago Defender, an important Black newspaper, from 1910-1975.

Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive

Part I: Debates over Slavery and Abolition and Part II: Slave Trade in the Atlantic WorldSlavery and Anti-Slavery includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade and the global movement for the abolition of slavery from the sixteenth through the nineteenth century.  Contains a large selection of newspapers published in the Caribbean, Europe and in the United States, including Black-owned journals and Southern dailies.

Libraries

Center for Research Libraries. Global Resources Network.  Newspapers

Searchable catalog of African American newspapers on microfilm held by the Center for Research Libraries and available via interlibrary loan.  Some titles are drawn from the Library of Congress microfilm collection of Miscellaneous Negro Newspapers, and the Underground Newspaper Collection.  Digital copies of eight key newspapers are available, including The New York Age (1887-1892), The Colored American (1837-1841), and The Christian Recorder (1899-1901).

Library of Congress. Black Press Held by the Library of Congress 

_______________.  Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  Chronicling America provides access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages from 1836-1922.  To identify and access the small number of digitized African American newspapers represented in the project thus far, use the “all digitized newspapers 1836-1922” tab, then click the ethnicity drop-down menu to select African American.