Skip to main content

Historical statistics

Statistical yearbooks

Most countries publish an annual statistical compilation; some began as early as the mid-19th century. Princeton University Library has a very large collection of statistical yearbooks for many countries. In general, the current volumes can be found in on A floor near the librarians' offices. The official location is DSS (Data & Statistical Services). Older volumes are in the Firestone stacks and/or on microfiche. To find statistical yearbooks for countries not listed in this guide, do a Subject search in the Main Catalog for [name of country] statistics periodicals.

  • Bibliography of official statistical yearbooks and bulletins. Gloria Westfall. Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, 1986.
    Trustee Reading Room Reference (DR): Ready Ref. Firestone Z7551 .W47 1986
  • Statistical abstract of the United States
    Data and Statistical Services (DSS). Firestone: HA202 .U58, 1st no. (1878-present) AND http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/
  • Statistical abstract for the United Kingdom which becomes Annual abstract of statistics
    Firestone Library (F) HA1121 .A2 (1871-present)
  • The statesman’s year-book [United Kingdom]
    RECAP JA51 .S7 (first published 1864; we have 1876-present)
  • Annuaire statistique de la France
    Firestone Library (F) HA1211 .A2 (1878-present)
  • Statistisches Jahrbuch ... für die Bundesrepublik Deutschland
    Firestone Library (F) HA1231 .A6 (1952-present)
  • USSR facts & figures annual which in 1993 becomes Russia & Eurasia facts & figures annual
    Firestone Library (F) HA1446 .U17 (1977-2002)
  • Statistical abstract of Latin America
    Firestone Library (F) HA931 .C12 (1955-present)
  • African statistical yearbook
    United Nations Collection (UN) HA1955 .U5 (1974-2013)
  • Statistical yearbook for Asia and the Pacific
    United Nations Collection (UN) HA1665 .S73 (1973-2004, 2007-2009, 2011)

Statistics in government documents

For the United States and Great Britain, it is also worth checking for statistics in other government documents. The convenient starting points are:

  • ProQuest U.S. Serial Set Digital Collection
    • Collection of U.S. Government publications compiled under the directive of Congress. Includes Congressional reports and documents as well as executive agency and departmental reports ordered to be printed by Congress. Covers 1789-1969.
  • House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
    • Digital edition of the House of Commons Parliamentary Papers of the 19th and 20th centuries. Covers 1688-2003 (or thereabouts).