Skip to main content

Russia, the Soviet Union, and Eastern Europe

Soviet Union: U.S. government records

CIA research reports [microform]
Microfilm 01861
5 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms D839.3.C52
Comprises reports and memos prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency to inform U.S. policy. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=440
This collection covers The Soviet Union, 1946-1976.

U.S. military intelligence reports [microform]: the Soviet Union, 1919-1941
Microfilm 06674
10 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DK54 .U68
"U.S. Military Intelligence Reports offers comprehensive documentation of events and trends in key areas from embassy military attaches and their staffs. Because of the key role of the military in Soviet politics and diplomacy, these military intelligence reports can be used as essential background material for research on a wide range of topics." See http://academic.lexisnexis.com/documents/upa_cis/3341_USMIRSovUnion.pdf

Records of the Joint Chiefs of Staff [microform]
Microfilm 11959
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms UA23.G842
This collection "includes the intelligence gathering, military reporting, and various draft plans out of which U.S. military and political policy arose." The collection is organized geographically. On Russia: 1946-1953: The Soviet Union (7 reels). Note that we also have the rest of this collection.

O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 05132
See below
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms D839.3.G84
Comprises reports prepared by the Office of Strategic Services and the Dept. of State to inform U.S. policy. On Russia, see Part 6 -- Soviet Union (8 reels) and Part 11 -- Soviet Union, 1950-1961 (6 reels). See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/2upa/Isiaas/OSS.asp.

Soviet Union--special studies [microform]
See below
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DK63.3.K47
This collection comprises studies prepared by a variety of government and non-governmental organizations to inform U.S. policy making.

  • 1970-1980 (9 reels) Microfilm 04789
  • 1980-1982 suppl. (8 reels) Microfilm 04789
  • 1982-1985 suppl. (9 reels) Microfilm 04789
  • 1985-1988 suppl. (10 reels) Microfilm 04789
  • 1989-1991 suppl. (13 reels) Microfilm 04789
  • 1992-1994 suppl. (15 reels) Microfilm 04789
  • 1995-1997 suppl. (12 reels) Microfilm 11880
  • 1998-2002 suppl. (14 reels) Microfilm 11956
  • 2003-2007 suppl. (12 reels) Microfilm 12454

John F. Kennedy national security files, 1961-1963: USSR and Eastern Europe History Vault

Replaces RECAP MICROFILM 08673 and RECAP MICROFILM 11966

Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, 1963-1969: USSR and Eastern Europe History Vault
Replaces Microfilm 08671, RECAP Microfilm 08673
This collection comprises documents on U.S. foreign policy and international relations from the Lyndon B. Johnson Library, including correspondence and reports.

Richard M. Nixon national security files, 1969-1974: USSR and Eastern Europe History Vault

Replaces RECAP Microfilm 11968
"The Richard M. Nixon National Security Files, 1969–1974, USSR and Eastern Europe, consists of documents on political, diplomatic, economic, and social developments concerning mainly the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (USSR) and its relationship with the United States, China, Eastern Europe, and the Middle East. These files also deal with Eastern Europe, but to a lesser extent. The reels are organized by country. The collection contains cables and letters from diplomatic personnel; reports of meetings with foreign government officials and leaders; transcripts of speeches; and political, economic, and diplomatic assessments analyzing relations with foreign governments."

Confidential U.S. diplomatic post records [microform]: Russia and the Soviet Union
Microfilm 00850
145 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E744.C663
Material from the National Archives, Record Group 84, Records of the Foreign Service Posts of the Department of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/084.html. Covers: Pt. 1. Russia: from czar to commissars, 1914-1918 (10 reels) -- Pt. 2, Sect. A. The Soviet Union, 1919-1924 (20 reels) -- Pt. 2, Sect. B. The Soviet Union, 1925-1933 (55 reels) -- Pt. 3. The Soviet Union, 1934-1941 (60 reels).

Commercial and Trade Relations Between Tsarist Russia, the Soviet Union and the U.S., 1910-1963
Archives Unbound

Consists of RG 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, 1910-1949, decimal numbers 661.11 (Commercial Relations between Russia and the U.S.) and 611.61 (Commercial Relations between the U.S. and Russia); 1950-1963, decimal numbers 461.11 and 411.61, National Archives, College Park, MD.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. The Soviet Union. Foreign affairs, 1945-1949 [microform]
Microfilm 05572
10 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DK267.L477
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. The Soviet Union. Foreign affairs, 1950-1954 [microform]
Microfilm 05571
12 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DK267.L4772.
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. The Soviet Union. Foreign affairs, 1955-1959 [microform]: decimal numbers 661 and 611.61
Microfilm 06659
15 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DK282 .C66 1989
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. The Soviet Union 1960-January 1963. Foreign affairs [microform]: decimal numbers 661 and 611.61
Microfilm 11679
10 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DK282 .C662 2000
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. The Soviet Union 1960-January 1963. Internal affairs [microform]: decimal numbers 761, 861, and 961
Microfilm 11678
32 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DK274 .C597 2000
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Country Intelligence Reports on USSR Archives Unbound

"This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on USSR."

British records

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part II, From the First to the Second World War. Series A, the Soviet Union, 1917-1939
Oversize JX632.B742 1984q

British documents on foreign affairs: reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part V, From 1951 through 1956. Series F, Europe, 1951
Oversize JZ632 .B77966 2005q

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part III. From 1940 through 1945. Series A. The Soviet Union and Finland
JX632 B7762 1997q

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part IV, From 1946 through 1950. Series A, Soviet Union and Finland
JZ632.B77 1999

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part V, From 1951 through 1956. Series A, The Soviet Union and Finland, 1951
JZ632 .B7796 2005

Periodicals & pamphlets

Fond 89, declassified documents, collection of duplicates [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 10589
25 reels
Printed guide: none
From the Archives of the Soviet Communist Party, State Archival Service of Russia and the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace. See http://www.hoover.org/publications/digest/3523571.html for more information.

Soviet biographic archive 1954-1985 [microform]
Microfiche 1026
2812 microfiche
Printed guide: none
In Russian. "Biographical clippings and abstracts arranged by name according to the Russian alphabet."

Everyday Stalinism [microform] / RGAE
Microfiche 2112
1141 microfiche
Printed guide: none
See guide at http://www.idc.nl/catalog/faid/371faid.html.

Newspapers from the Russian revolutionary era
RECAP Microfilm S01054 
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms AP50.A1R48
"Describing events leading up to and including the overthrow of the Russian Empire, this significant collection makes available rare holdings of Russian newspapers from Columbia University’s Herbert Lehman Library and other major sources.... In addition to the Russian newspapers, the collection presents papers printed during this time in other countries, which complement the Russian reports and give scholars outsiders’ accounts of the Revolution." See http://microformguides.gale.com/Data/Download/2043000R.pdf

Anti-semitism and nationalism at the end of the Soviet era [microform]
Microfiche 1583
138 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Oversize DK33 .A574 1993q
"Leaflets, newspapers, posters, documents, photographs, documenting anti-Semitism and nationalism in the Soviet Union."

Russian/ Soviet Newspapers Online