Skip to main content

Africa: primary sources

African records

South African press digests, 1949-1972 [microform]
Microfiche 1728
140 fiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Oversize DT1757 .S687q
This collection comprises weekly English-language summaries of South African newspaper articles, prepared by the South African Jewish Board of Deputies.

Other sources

Africa through western eyes [microform]
Microfilm 11953
43 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT32.5 .A36 1999
A collection of manuscript records of western travellers -- missionaries, explorers, traders, diplomats -- in Africa. Parts 1-2 includes original manuscripts from the Royal Commonwealth Society Library at Cambridge University Library (reels 1-15); part 3 includes the papers of Cameron, Cruikshank, Livingstone, Moffatt, Park and Stanley from the National Library of Scotland (reels 1-10); Pt. 4. Papers of Sir John KIrk (1832-1922) from the National Library of Scotland -- Pt. 5. Papers of Frederick William Hugh Migeod and Mary Ward from the Royal Commonwealth Society Library. Online guide:
http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/collections_az/ATWE-1/description.aspx.

Church Missionary Society archive. Section IV, Africa missions
Princeton Theological Seminary
Printed guide: Firestone Z6611.M65 C487 1999
See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/church_missionary_society_archive_general/
index.aspx
; there are more detailed guides for the individual parts at http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/c.aspx

Colonial discourses. Series one, Women, travel, and empire, 1660-1914 [microform]
Microfilm 11672
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms G240 .C646
Part 1 comprises aarly travel accounts by women, and women's experiences in India, Africa, Australasia and Canada (reels 1-25)
http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/colonial_discourses_series_one/index.aspx

Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions, 1833-1911 [microform]
Microfilm 10566
87 reels
Printed guide: uncataloged (shelved at end of FilmB)
This collection comprises correspondence, reports and miscellanea to and from the Board of Foreign Missions of the Presbyterian Church in the U.S. A. Princeton holds only selected reels from this collection, including the material on Africa.

Evangelism in Africa: Correspondence of the Board of Foreign Missions, 1835-1910 Archives Unbound
"The records of the Board of Foreign Missions (BFM) of the Presbyterian Church provide valuable information on social conditions in developing nations and on efforts to spread the gospel during the nineteenth century. Among the missions’ responsibilities was the establishment of indigenous churches, educational facilities, hospitals, orphanages, and seminaries. The majority of the material in this collection consists of incoming correspondence from the mission field and outgoing correspondence from the Board headquarters. Other primary sources include diary accounts, sermon manuscripts, receipts of sale, and field accounts."

Records of the American Committee on Africa [microform]
Microfilm 08552
6 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT38.7 .A437
The American Committee on Africa was formed in the 1950's to address the decolonization of Africa, and to give a voice in the United States to black Africans. Part 1, ACOA Executive Committee minutes and National Office memoranda, 1952-1975, covers the founding of the organization and its activities up through the mid-1970's, including research and advocacy. Note: the complete set of 51 reels is available through Interlibrary Loan from CRL.

Slave trade journals and papers. Pt. 1. The Humphrey Morice papers from the Bank of England, London [microform]
Microfilm 11775
4 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HT1161 .M674
This collection comprises the papers of a prominant British slaver trader of the early 18th century. See
http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/slave_trade_journals_and_papers/index.aspx

South Africa, a collection of miscellaneous documents, 1902-1963
1860.8675
15 reels
Printed guide: none
Microfilm of originals in Stanford University, Hoover Institution on War, Revolution and Peace.
Index, 1902-1963. 1 reel.

Wingate papers [microform]
Microfilm 09143
2 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DT156.5 .W563
Papers of Sir F. R. Wingate, 1861-1953, army officer and colonial governor of the Sudan. See Wingate, Sir Francis Reginald in the Oxford Dictionary of National Biography.

Early colonial and missionary records from West Africa British Online Archives "Selected documents from a number of different microfilm collections, including: early Gold Coast records from the archives of the USPG; the papers of Thomas Perronet Thompson, the first Governor of the Colony of Sierra Leone; An account of two missionary voyages by Rev. Thomas Thompson; the letters of Rev. Philip Quaque, etc."

South African archives of the USPG British Online Archives "This collection from the Archives of the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, dates from their earliest connection with South Africa. Since January 1965 the USPG continues the work previously done by the SPG (incorporated 1701) and UMCA, the Universities' Mission to Central Africa, founded in 1857 in response to Livingstone's challenge at Cambridge. Both are Anglican societies. As the USPG is a church society, their records are arranged by dioceses, as this is the administrative and geographical unit with which they dealt."

Universities' Mission to Central Africa British Online Archives "The UMCA was founded in the late 1850s, after the return of Dr David Livingstone from the region in 1857. This "high church" Anglican society drew its missionaries initially from the universities of Oxford, Cambridge, Durham and Dublin. Under its motto "A servant of servants", from its main centres of Zanzibar and Nyasaland (now Malawi), the UMCA began from an early date opposing the slave trade and promoting the education of the indigenous people and the training and ordination of African priests. In 1965 the UMCA merged with the much older Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts to form the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel. This collection, beginning with the Mission's monthly journal, Central Africa, comprises UMCA materials preserved in the USPG archive at the Rhodes House Library, Oxford."