Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion in the Americas: Primary Sources

Databases and Online Collections

African American Biographical Database

African American Communities

American Film Institute Catalogue

American History and Culture Online (Sabin Americana) 1500-1926

American Religion: Denominational Newspapers

American Religious Sound Project

American Song

Association of Religion Data Archive

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Black Gospel Music Restoration Project

Black Thought and Culture

Center for the Study of Material and Visual Cultures of Religion

Consortium of Pentecostal Archives

Cylinder Audio Archive (UCSB)

Documenting the American South: The Church in the Southern Black Community

Early American Imprints

Evans Digital Edition, 1632-1800

Early English Books Online

Everyday Life and Women in America, 1800-1920

Farm Security Administration/ Office of War Information Photographs

Folkstreams

LGBT Religious Archives Network

LGBT Thought and Culture

Library of Congress Moving Image Research Center

Manuscript Women’s Letters and Diaries, 1750-1950

North American Indian Thought and Culture

New York Public Library Digital Collections

North American Women’s Letters and Diaries

Oral History Online

PU Digital Maps

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives

Popular Culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975

Race Relations in America

South Asian American Digital Archive

Speech Accent Archive

Twentieth-Century Advice Literature

Winterthur Museum Collections

Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000

Women’s Magazine Archives

Works Progress Administration Posters

 

Edited Collections

Brett E. Carroll, The Routledge Historical Atlas of Religion in America (Routledge, 2000)

John Corrigan and Lynn S. Neal, Religious Intolerance in America: A Documentary History (UNC, 2010)
BR517 .R45 2010

Edward E. Curtis, IV, The Columbia Sourcebook of Muslims in the United States (Columbia, 2007)
E184.M88 C65 2008

Dereck Daschke and W. Michael Ashcraft, eds., New Religious Movements: A Documentary Reader (NYU, 2005)
BL2525 .N4865 2005

Edwin S. Gaustad (Mark A. Noll, and Heath W. Carter), A Documentary History of Religion in America (1st edition Harper, 1990;, 2nd edition Eerdmans, 1993; 3rd edition w/ Mark A. Noll, 2003; 4th edition w/ Mark A. Noll and Heath W. Carter, 2018)
BL2525 .D63 1993

Terryl L. Givens and Reid L. Neilson, The Columbia Sourcebook of Mormons in the United States (Columbia, 2014)
BX8611 .C63 2014

R. Marie Griffith, ed., American Religions: A Documentary History (Oxford, 2007)
BL2525 .A542 2008

Barry Hankins, Evangelicalism and Fundamentalism: A Documentary Reader (NYU, 2008)
BR1640 .E89 2008

Paul Harvey and Philip Goff, eds., The Columbia Documentary History of Religion in America since 1945 (Columbia, 2005)

Mark J. Massa and Catherine Osborne, eds., American Catholic History: A Documentary Reader (NYU, 2017)
BX1406.3 .A489 2017

Colleen McDannell, ed., Religions of the United States in Practice, Volume 2 (Princeton, 2001)
BL2525 .R4688 2001

Rosemary Radford Ruether and Rosemary Skinner Keller, eds., Women and Religion in America: 1900-1968, A Documentary History (Harper, 1990)
BR515 .W648 1981

Milton C. Sernett, African American Religious History: A Documentary Witness (1st edition Duke, 1985; 2nd edition Duke, 2000)
BR563.N4 A359 1999

Thomas A. Tweed and Stephen Prothero, eds., Asian Religions in America: A Documentary History (Oxford 1998)
BL2525 .A85 1999

Gary Phillip Zola, American Jewish History: A Primary Source Reader (Brandeis, 2014)
E184.35 .A45 2014