Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key Dance Periodicals (Print or Online)
Dance Periodical Databases (Citations & Full Text)
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Comprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864. Formerly known as International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
Provides extensive full-text of articles, reviews, & other content from many leading, primarily English-language journals & magazines in theater, dance, & the performing arts (1995+). Also offers citations, abstracts, & some full text for articles, books, book chapters, & dissertations back to 1982. Additional selective content dates back to 1929.
Music Periodical Databases with Significant Dance Coverage
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text
Covers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included. 1967+
Subject Search Links for Dance & Ballet Periodicals
These prefabricated searches of the Princeton University Library catalog capture select groups of journal titles (including annuals) by subject terms dance or ballet. The default sort is alphabetical by title. After clicking and retrieving the result set, you can further refine the results by the search limits in the left sidebar (date range, language, etc.) as well as re-sort the list by other options. You can also click the back-up button to view the original catalog search and design your own (changing the geographical area, language, etc.).
Note: there is some overlap between the result sets for subject searches on dance or ballet (some cataloging records include both keywords). But a number of journal titles have only one or the other subject descriptor depending upon the focus of the journal.