Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A few suggestions for Primary Sources
What Are Primary Sources? (text from UC Irvine Libraries https://www.lib.uci.edu/what-are-primary-sources)
Primary sources are documents, images or artifacts that provide firsthand testimony or direct evidence concerning an historical topic under research investigation. Primary sources are original documents created or experienced contemporaneously with the event being researched. Primary sources enable researchers to get as close as possible to what actually happened during an historical event or time period. A secondary source is a work that interprets or analyzes an historical event or period after the event has occurred and, generally speaking, with the use of primary sources. The same document, or other piece of evidence, may be a primary source in one investigation and secondary in another. The search for primary sources does not, therefore, automatically include or exclude any format of research materials or type of records, documents, or publications.
Selections from Princeton's Digital Repository. Includes online exhibitions and companion websites for exhibitions in Firestone Library's Milberg Gallery.
Digital Public Library of America
Excellent aggregator of materials contributed by archives, museums, and libraries across the United States. See in particular the "Primary Source Sets" to see what the site has to offer.
Europeana works with thousands of European archives, libraries and museums to share cultural heritage for enjoyment, education and research.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Contains millions of titles digitized from libraries across the world. Complete, downloadable volumes of works out of copyright, log in to make your own collections of items.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
The Library of Congress is the largest library in the world, with millions of books, recordings, photographs, newspapers, maps and manuscripts in its collections. Digital Collections provide primary sources online.
PUDL - Princeton University Digital Library
Legacy website that includes digitized material from the Princeton University Library collections, some of which is not duplicated in the newer Digital PUL site noted above.