(eLab friendly; must be Princeton University student) Research reports and data related to digital marketing, media, and commerce. Coverage is global and topics include advertising spending, demographics, media, and device usage as well as B2B, content, email, social media and search marketing.
A trade organization with the goal of connecting practitioners and academics; their site has fee content, but also good free resources like a marketing dictionary, white papers and short articles on trending topics.
This website may look spartan, but it has a lot of short articles that work as starting points, linking off to other sites with more information on marketing topics aimed to address marketing professionals, educators and students.
For all things content marketing. Site is full of practical, how-to guidance, insight and advice from the experts, and an active community for discussing the latest news, information, and advances that are moving the industry forward. Awesome articles.
This is only a very small selection of the books, both online and print, that are available. Go to the library homepage to search for more.
Stop pushing products--and start cultivating customer relationships. If you need the best practices and ideas for marketing today--but don't have time to find them--this book is for you. Here are 10 inspiring and useful perspectives, all in one place. This collection of HBR articles will help you: figure out what business you're really in, collaborate with customers to meet current and future needs, create products that perform the jobs people need to get done, get a bird's-eye view of your brands' strengths and weaknesses, tap a market that's larger than China and India combined, deliver superior value to your B2B customers, and end the war between sales and marketing.
The rise of the digital age means that consumers have unprecedented access to information and they're no longer interested in a "one size fits all screens" experience. Multi-screen Marketing: The Seven Things You Need to Know to Reach Your Customers Across TVs, Computers, Tablets, and Mobile Phones is a comprehensive guide to understanding the multi-screen consumer. Written by thought leaders from Microsoft's Advertising Division, the book identifies what drives consumer behavior across devices and digital platforms - sequentially, simultaneously, at home, at work and everywhere in between. The underlying concept is that marketers need to move beyond a technology feature-obsessed approach where a device's capabilities dictate one's marketing plan, and instead, focus on the underlying needs and motivations of their customers. This approach can help marketers simplify their strategy, while enabling them to leverage the right screen with the right message in the right moment.
Campaigns that Shook the World provides the inside story on a selection of the greatest campaigns of the last four decades, while narrating the development of the PR and communications business. The book provides the definitive case studies of nine campaigns - political, corporate and entertainment - from the 1970s to the present day. It explains their strategies and tactics, looks at the imagery and icons they created and interviews the powerful, flamboyant personalities who crafted and executed these seminal projects.The book examines Thatcherism, New Labour, Britain's royal family, the Rolling Stones, David Beckham, the London 2012 Olympics, Product (RED), Obama for America and Dove's Campaign for Real Beauty.
Marketing Analytics arms business analysts and marketers with the marketing science understanding and techniques they need to solve real-world marketing problems, from pulling a targeted list and segmenting data to testing campaign effectiveness and forecasting demand. Assuming no prior knowledge, this book outlines everything practitioners need to 'do' marketing science and demonstrate value to their organization. It introduces concepts relating to statistics, marketing strategy and consumer behaviour and then works through a series of marketing problems in a straightforward, jargon-free way. It demonstrates solutions for various data modelling scenarios and includes full workings and critical analyses to reinforce the key concepts.
A new generation of megabrands like Facebook, Dropbox, Airbnb, and Twitter haven't spent a dime on traditional marketing. No press releases, no TV commercials, no billboards. Instead, they rely on a new strategy - growth hacking - to reach many more people despite modest marketing budgets. Growth hackers have thrown out the old playbook and replaced it with tools that are testable, trackable, and scalable. They believe that products and businesses should be modified repeatedly until they're primed to generate explosive reactions. Bestselling author Ryan Holiday, the acclaimed marketing guru for American Apparel and many bestselling authors and multiplatinum musicians, explains the new rules and provides valuable examples and case studies for aspiring growth hackers.
Consumers are exposed to as many as 5,000 daily marketing messages via online, social media, and traditional marketing channels. Entrepreneurs will learn what it takes to get noticed by tapping into the playbooks of successful product producers including Nike, Red Bull, Steve Jobs, Dr. Dre and others. Successful marketer Al Lautenslager presents an entertaining look at what it takes to gain consumer buy-in and buzz across all marketing channels and reveals simple truths that any business can use to achieve the same, relative to their market.
For generations, marketing has been hypocritical. We've been taught to market to others the way we hate being marketed to (cold-calling, flyers, ads); yet we're all aware that no one likes to be marketed to. Potential and current customers want to be listened to, validated, and have a platform to be heard -- especially online. This book shows people how to create a mindset and systems that perpetually attract the right customers. Instead of teaching the tired method of Push & Pray (pushing out marketing messages, and praying people buy), UnMarketing focuses on the Pull & Stay technique (pulling your market towards you and staying/engaging with them, so when they have the need for your product/service, you're the logical choice).
From research frameworks and concept development to planning, budgeting, media placement, and program implementation, marketers have not kept up - to the detriment of themselves and their companies. Completely revamping old-school marketing is the only way to drive profitable sales, create growing brands, and increase market share in today's post-Great Recession business landscape. Pearson calls for nothing short of a marketing revolution. You must throw out almost everything you hold dear and embrace technology, a new role in business, and real accountability. The Old Rules of Marketing Are Dead has what you need to reinvent your products, your services--and your future.
Whether you use social media now or not, people are already talking about your company online. By becoming part of the conversation in a more meaningful way, you can start connecting directly to your customers and clients and finding new ones right away with ease and efficiency. Social media marketing isn't like traditional marketing and treating it that way only leads to frustration and failure. In The Zen of Social Media Marketing, Shama Kabani, social media expert and president of The Marketing Zen Group (MarketingZen.com), teaches you the zen of using social media tools to find your own marketing nirvana.
Updated to include the latest information on engaging with your community, measuring your efforts, blending your social media with other online and offline marketing efforts, and leveraging data you collect into learning more about your community, this new edition of Social Media Marketing All-in-One For Dummies will help you apply your marketing efforts to the latest social media marketing sites and tools. Inside, you'll discover how to devise and maintain a successful social media strategy, use the latest tactics for reaching your customers, and utilize data to make adjustments to future campaigns and activities.
Digital Branding gives step-by-step, practical guidance on how to build a brand online. Through exploring topics like content marketing, social media, search optimisation and web analytics, Daniel Rowles develops a robust framework for brand planning, channel selection and measuring the effectiveness of your brand campaigns. Digital Branding contains real world case studies, a guide to the free and paid tools that can help measure digital branding in each of the different online channels, examples of social guidelines, process and policy and an original step by step digital branding process along with measurement techniques and guidelines.
This book presents a critical examination on the integration of social networking platforms into business tactics and the challenges presented by consumers' use of these online communities, highlighting pivotal issues such as brand management, customer loyalty, and online services.
Social media has quickly become part of the fabric of our daily lives, and as we have flocked to it, so have most companies and organisations from every sector and industry. It is now the place to attract and sustain our attention. But how is it a new marketing activity and how is it similar to previous practice and customer behaviour? Does it require new modes of thinking about human networks and communications or do the existing conceptual models still apply? This book offers a critical evaluation of the theoretical frameworks that can be used to explain and utilise social media, and applies them to fun real-life examples and case studies from a range of industries, companies and countries.
Social media platforms such as Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, and Pinterest are changing the way consumers make purchasing decisions . . . and tapping into these online communities has become a necessary part of any integrated sales strategy. Citing enlightening research and real-world examples, this smart, practical guide presents readers with a detailed methodology for growing sales and expanding their customer base using social media.
The Best Digital Marketing Campaigns in the World brings together an international collection of the most successful digital marketing campaigns of our time, assessing what they achieved and the business lessons learnt. This practical and insightful book explores how businesses large and small have harnessed social media, blogs, forums, online video and email to boost their brand and attract customers.