Russian Visual Culture

Print reproductions of Russian visual artworks are available in monographically published and cataloged bound volumes. Most of these types of publications discoverable and requestable via Princeton's catalog will be non-circulating, meaning that you'll have to use them in the Library. To look beyond Princeton's collections, search in WorldCat.

High-quality digital images of Russian visual artworks are available on websites maintained by a number of museums and galleries with Russian art holdings. A few of those with the most substantial holdings are listed here.

Museum Collections in North America and Western Europe

The Zimmerli Museum at Rutgers University in New Jersey Known particularly for its collection of Russian Art & Soviet Nonconformist Art. The greatest focus being on the twentieth century, the Zimmerli collection also includes Russian artworks from the fourteenth through the nineteenth centuries.

Museum of Modern Art (New York) Strong collections in Russian art of the twentieth century.

The Metropolitan Museum of Art Strongest in twentieth-century Russian art but, but the collections include works of visual art and material culture from Russia from the fifteenth through the nineteenth centuries, as well as erlier artifacts from the territory of modern-day Russia.

The Tate Modern (London) Strong collections in Russian art of the twentieth century.

Museum Collections in Russia

Третьяковская галерея (и новая и старая) The combined collections of the “old” and “new” Tretyakov Galleries constitute one of the largest if not the largest collection of Russian art of all periods.

Русский музей Massive collections of Russian art spanning all periods.

Музей современного искусства «Гараж» Substantial collection of contemporary (twenty-first century) art produced in Russia.

Princeton has extensive holdings of catalogs of exhibitions held in Russia and more generally of exhibitions of Russian art. To produce a list of these, in the advanced search interface enter “exhibition catalogs” as subject, russia* as a keyword, along with any other relevant parameters, such as, for example, a date range. To search beyond Princeton’s collections, in WorldCat, search “exhibition catalogs” as genre/form, russia* as a keyword, along with any other relevant parameters.