Skip to Main Content

Russian Performing Arts

Primary Sources - Music

Нотный автограф П. И. Чайковского: Романс, ор. 5 (1868 г.), f-moll. Для фортепиано. Дарственная запись в альбом Шарля Бонье (Charles-Louis Baugniet) от 9 февраля 1888 г., Берлин. Президентская библиотека им. Ельцина

Primary Sources in Princeton's Special Collections

Items in Princeton’s Special Collections related to Russian music include a collection of Early Soviet Illustrated Sheet Music, and a Rare 1933 Steklograph Rehearsal Score of Shostakovich’s Леди Макбет Мценского уезда.

Unique Collections in North American Repositories

Columbia University Rare Book and Manuscript Library is home to the Serge Prokofiev Archive, 1917-2012.

The Library of Congress is home to the Sergei Rachmaninoff archive, 1872-19.

Unique Collections in Russian Repositories

РГАЛИ (The Russian State Literature and Art Archive)
One of the largest repositories of institutional records and personal papers relating to the history of Russian music, among them: Государственное музыкальное издательство (Музгиз) (Москва, 1930-1964); Редакция журнала "Советская музыка" (Москва, 1933-1992); Московская государственная консерватория им. П.И. Чайковского (1918- по настоящее время); Московское отделение Русского музыкального общества (1859-1918); Московское Cинодальное училище церковного пения (1830-1918); Музыкальное издательство П.И. Юргенсона (Москва, 1861-1918); Союз композиторов СССР (Москва; 1932-1991); Прокофьев Сергей Сергеевич (1891-1953) – композитор; Шостакович Дмитрий Дмитриевич (1906-1975) – композитор.

Guides to Archival Collections

Archives of Russia : a directory and bibliographic guide to holdings in Moscow and St. Petersburg/ edited by Patricia Kennedy Grimsted

Archeo BiblioBase : Archives in Russia

Портал Архивы России. Федеральное архивное агенство (Росархив)

The electronic and print editions of Отечественные архивы

Путеводители по российским архивам (EastView)

The Russian Empire and Soviet Union : a guide to manuscripts and archival materials in the United States / Steven A. Grant and John H. Brown (Kennan Institute for Advanced Russian Studies, the Wilson Center) This guide is also available in PDF from the Library of Congress.