Russian Performing Arts

Copies of films, whether on physical carriers such as DVDs or other discs or tapes, or in the form of digital files, are treated monographically, which is to say they have individual records in library catalogs. In Princeton’s catalog there’s a format facet “Film/Projected Medium” that can be used to limit searches to copies of cinematic works. In WorldCat, audiovusal recordings are a subcategory of the “visual” format facet.

For monographic and serial print publications held in the library collections, run searches in online catalogs such as Princeton’s or WorldCat.

There are also databases that contain digitized copies of this content.

Искусство кино Digital Archive (1931-2011) Comprehensive full-text/full-image archive of the main journal of Soviet cinema through its multiple iterations: Пролетарское кино (1931-1932), Советское кино (1933—1935), Искусство кино (1936-2011).

Early Russian cinema online Collection of Russian film periodicals from the last tsarist decade documents the silent movie era and Russia's entertainment industry on the eve of the Revolution. Includes both sophisticated and more popular periodicals released by the major Russian film studios. Issues contain a variety of primary-source genres, including interviews with film stars and now irretrievably lost screenplays.

Soviet cinema online : periodicals and newspapers, 1918-1942 A collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s. The collection documents the production side of Soviet cinematography, the theoretical and practical concepts developed by the period's leading directors and critics, and the role of film in Soviet cultural life. Issues contain a vairety of primary-source materials, including articles by figures such as Lev Kuleshov, Sergei Eisenstein, Dziga Vertov, Aleksandr Dovzhenko, and Abram Room.