Introduction
Welcome to the course guide for Archives for Historical Research. This guide was created as a space for all links and information shared in the annual wintersession Archives for Historical Research, taught by Steve Knowlton (Librarian for U.S. History and African American Studies), Sara Logue (Assistant University Librarian for Special Collections Public Services), Deborah Schlein (Librarian for Near Eastern Studies), and Alain St. Pierre (Librarian for World History, History of Science, and African Studies).
Preliminary Research
We recommend using these resources to help identify archives which hold materials related to your topic.
- WorldCat This link opens in a new windowComprehensive online catalog of library holdings. Lists books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, and other materials located in public, academic, corporate, school and specialized libraries all over the world. Check Worldcat for holdings of material that are not available at Princeton. Available items may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowIndex to finding aids and other descriptive information about the holdings of manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world.
- SNAC - Social Networks and Archival ContextSocial Networks and Archival Context (SNAC) is an online project for discovering, locating, and using distributed historical records in regard to individual people, families, and organizations.
- National Archives DiscoveryAccess records held by The National Archives and more than 2,500 other archives in the UK.
- Archives Portal EuropeArchives Portal Europe provides you a single access to find, browse and discover information on archives about Europe held by thousands of cultural heritage institutions from more than 30 countries.
Biographical Dictionaries
There are a number of biographical dictionaries for different countries around the world. Many of these provide lists of archival sources for important historical figures. This is not an exhaustive list.
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative bios of more than 19,000 prominent people who lived in what is now the United States from the Colonial Period to the present. Everyone included is deceased. Includes bibliographic data on publications by and about these individuals. Search by name orvarious characteristics including gender, ethnicity, occupation, dates. 17th Century+
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowIllustrated collection of over 57,000 authoritative biographies of people who shaped the history of Great Britain, from the 4th century BC to those who have died in the previous few years.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary yet published for Ireland. Contains signed biographical articles which describe and assess the careers of subjects in all fields including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
- Dictionary of German Biography This link opens in a new window
Biographical Dictionaries in Print
African American National Biography by Call Number: E185.96 .A4466 2013 - African American Studies Reading RoomISBN: 9780199920778Publication Date: 2013-03-15
