SPI 402b - Advancing Birth Equity in New Jersey

Health policy information is often found in reports, working papers and white papers of think tanks, non-governmental organizations (NGOs), policy organizations and academic research centers. See below for searching these types of materials.

Other Search Engines 

• Think Tank Search (Harvard)
• GOOGLE NGO Search
• GOOGLE IGO Search

• Rutgers State Health Policy Lab - Maternal Health Equity in New Jersey - See the New Jersey Maternal Mortality Rate report
• National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) Maternal and Child Health Database - Tracks state legislation about 14 topics related to maternal health including maternal and infant mortality.
• Commonwealth Fund (Search for maternal or birth equity in the search box in the top right.) Health policy research organization focusing on a wide array of issues, including health care delivery, access, insurance. cost and reform, as well as prescription drug policy, vulnerable populations and international innovations. 
• StateNetwork.org Supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. (Search for "Maternal" in the search box in the top right.)  Issue briefs, reports, webinars, commentary,  statistics, etc. on state health policy. Topics include insurance, public health, health equity, 
• National Academy for State Health Policy (NASHP) -  Women's and Children's Health - Independent academy of state health policy makes across branches and agencies of state government to address health issues. Includes state health trackers, blogs, etc.
• CDC Public Health Policy - Maternal Mortality Focus on black maternal mortality.
• Black Mammas Matter Alliance (BMMA) - Issue briefs, reports and factsheets about black maternal health.
• Urban Institute Health Policy Center - (Search for maternal or birth equity in the search box in the top right.) Reports, briefs and fact sheets on employer-based coverage, Medicare and Medicaid, the health care safety net, and state and local initiatives to improve population health.
• Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF) - Women's Health Policy Provides reports, data, public opinion polling, and news articles. State Health Facts includes information about individual states.
• Guttmacher Institute State Legislation Tracker - Tracks major developments in sexual and reproductive health including pregnancy, maternal mortality, insurance coverage, and more. 
• Women Deliver - Advocacy organization with publication database of reports about gender equity and the health.
• National Partnership for Women and Families - Resource library includes reports, papers and fact sheets about maternal  health, health justice, reproductive rights, etc. 
• California Maternal Quality Care Collaborative Multi-stakeholder organization focused on California maternity care. Includes the California Pregnancy-Related Death Reports, the Maternal Death Reviews report and the Pregnancy Associated Suicide Report
• New Jersey Health Care Quality Institute - Covers maternal infant health, reproductive health, etc. 
• National Health Law Program Doula Medicaid Project - Tracks current state doula Medicaid efforts.