Keywords
Having trouble thinking of keywords? Try the Visual Thesaurus.
General Interest/Places to Start
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology and allied fields. Coverage includes all languages in which these materials are published.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowWorldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. 1800+
- Proquest Research LibraryAbstracting, indexing, and select full text of many core scholarly journals, magazines and major newspapers for information on a broad range of subjects.
- EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals
- Wilson OmniFile This link opens in a new windowMulti-disciplinary database providing select full text articles, abstracts, and indexing. Consists of databases for scholarly sources in agriculture, applied science and technology, art, biology, business, education, general science, humanities, law, library and information science, social sciences, as well as popular appeal titles.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
Selected Sociology / Psychology / Anthropology databases
More Sociology, Psychology and Anthrolopology Databases
- Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowProduced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd ed.) This link opens in a new windowCovering 26 volumes in print, this major encyclopedia aims to capture the "state of the art" of the social and behavioral sciences, expanding its focus to include related biological fields, such as evolutionary science, genetics, cognitive neuroscience, psychiatry, and health. Topics include anthropology, archaeology, demography, economics, education, geography, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, and sociology.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowWorldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. 1800+
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowIndexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. 1886+
Selected History databases
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Index 1954+
- America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new windowIndexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1954+
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology and allied fields. Coverage includes all languages in which these materials are published.
Selected Literature databases
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of modern literature, language, and linguistics.
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of biographies, bibliographies, literary criticism, and other resources on authors of all categories and eras.
- Literary Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Broad spectrum of reference information. Full-text database that combines information from over 1,000 books and monographs, major literary encyclopedias and reference works, hundreds of literary journals, and unique sources not available anywhere else. Contains detailed information on the most studied authors and their works.
Selected Performing Arts databases
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus This link opens in a new windowIndexes articles and provides selective full text from over 300 of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals. Also incorporates the International Index to TV Periodicals (1979-1998), Treasures from the Film Archives (identifying silent film holdings in archives worldwide), the International Federation of Film Archives Affiliates' Publications, and the International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections. 1972+
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new windowCovers all aspects of music, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, and music therapy. If related to music, works in other fields, such as literature, dramatic arts, visual arts, anthropology, sociology, philosophy and physics are included. 1967+
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage of the performing arts, including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, comedy, opera, and more. IIPA indexes more than 210 periodicals. Full text is available from 1998 to the present; citations to articles are indexed back to 1864. Formerly known as International Index to the Performing Arts Full Text.
Health & Medicine
- Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new windowService of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles. 1879+
- STAT Plus This link opens in a new windowSTAT Plus is a subscription based journalism service “Reporting from the frontiers of health and medicine”, offering a deeper analysis of the latest trends biotech, pharma, policy, and the life sciences. Our subscription includes: daily reporting/analysis, information on industry events, online briefings, and exclusive interviews with leaders in the industry. ACCESS NOTE: Use your Princeton email address to create a free account.
- Health Poll Database This link opens in a new windowPart of IPoll. Comprehensive database for health-related U.S. survey questions, covering eighty years of national polling. Searchable questions and results, demographic crosstabs, and trends are available on every topic related to health, from social determinants and influences on health to insurance, costs and health-care utilization.
- Global Health This link opens in a new window
International public health database providing abstracts to literature about healthcare, biomedical life sciences, sexual and reproductive health, communicable and non-communicable diseases, environmental health, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene . Covers English and foreign language journals, books, reports, patents, dissertations and conference proceedings.
- Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new windowA free health and medical research database for openly available content related to the COVID-19 outbreak
- Oxford Scholarship Online: Public Health and Epidemiology This link opens in a new window
Searchable full text of many Oxford University Press titles in public health and epidemiology.
- Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new windowContains references including full-text of all versions of the DSM and its Treatment Companion, and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines for the Treatment of Psychiatric Disorders. It also gives access to journals including The American Journal of Psychiatry and Psychiatric Services and several textbooks including The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Clinical Psychiatry. Psychiatry Online also has self-assessment tools for study, board certification and recertification review, and lifelong learning. It also contains clinical and research news from Psychiatric News.
- African HealthLine This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles on African and developing country health issues, including AIDS/HIV, malaria, TB, diseases, nutrition, urbanization, water supply, medical systems, traditional medicine and medicinal plants.
Selected Philosophy databases
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowScholarly index to journal articles and books in philosophy. Includes anthologies and book reviews. 1940+
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles with current bibliographies on virtually every aspect of philosophy. Updated quarterly
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text articles with current bibliographies on many topics of philosophy.
List of all databases by subject
Citation Searching
Databases with citation searching allow you to see who has cited a particular work and see how the it fits in the scholarly conversation.
- Google ScholarRelevance ranking in Google scholar includes number of times cited, so important works rise to the top.
- ScopusA broad, interdisciplinary database which focuses on literature in the sciences. Includes citation searching.
- Web of ScienceMultidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes citation searching.
Selected Politics databases
- International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowAbstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new windowProvides citations and abstracts of the international literature in political science, including journal articles, books and book chapters, dissertations, and reviews. It also covers such areas as international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public policy. Provides references to reliable websites.
Selected Religion databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials Plus This link opens in a new windowCitations and many full-text articles from religion and theology journals. 1949+
- Encyclopedia of Religion This link opens in a new windowProvides articles with bibliographies on every aspect of religion. The second edition of the classic Encyclopedia of Religion.
Selected Art Databases
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowGateway to several important art historical reference tools, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online) and Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006 English ed.). Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2001), The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998), a database of images and more.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowDigital library of more than one million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- International Bibliography of Art This link opens in a new windowCurrently includes some indexing created by the Getty Research Institute (from the Bibliography of the History of Art, the former definitive scholarly resource--books and journals--for western art history). Indexing will continue in the coming months and may expand to include art from Asia, Latin America and Africa.
- Bibliography of the History of Art This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and art exhibition and dealer's catalogs, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present. Includes coverage for 1990-2007, as well as its predecessor index, RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of the Art), 1975-89. See also History of Art Bibliography. 1975-2007
Selected Linguistics Databases
- Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowCovers all disciplines of theoretical linguistics, both general and language specific, from all geographical areas, including less-known and extinct languages, with particular attention to the many endangered languages of the world.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new windowIndexes journals covering all aspects of the study of languages, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Selected Science/Technology databases
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowInternational coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970. 1996+
- Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.
- INSPEC This link opens in a new windowMajor bibliographic database concentrating on physics, electrical and electronic engineering, information technology, computer and control systems, and manufacturing, production engineering, and information technology. 1896+
- IEEE/IEE Electronic Library (IEL). This link opens in a new windowFull text of all IEEE (institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and IEE (Institution of Electrical Engineers) journals and conferences back to 1988 with select content back to 1893.