Research Guides: SAS 355/ANT 395/ENV 381/URB 355: Coastal Justice: Ecologies, Societies, Infrastructures in South Asia: Ethnographies

Finding Ethnographies at PUL

Anthropology Research Guide at Emory University
This is a research guide created by Dr. Lori Janke of Emory University Libraries. Please see Dr. Janke's tips for how to find ethnographies in the catalog.
Anthropology Libguide
A guide to anthropology research by Wayne Bivens-Tatum.

Ethnographies in the PUL catalog

As Dr. Janke says in the research guide above, ethnographies are often grouped with books on a particular country, rather than in the GN Library of Congress classification for Anthropology. For Asia, that means browsing titles in the DS classification. The relevant call numbers for each country in South Asia are:

Afghanistan: DS354.5-354.6
Pakistan: DS380
Bangladesh: DS393.82-393.83
India: DS430-432
Sri Lanka: DS489.2-489.25
Bhutan: DS491-492.9 (includes general history and ethnographies)
Nepal: DS493-495.8 (includes general history and ethnographies)

Finding Ethnographies in Databases

Alexander Street Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Featuring cross-searchable access to the acclaimed Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections, Alexander Street Anthropology provides anthropologists, sociologists and cultural historians with an expansive and multifaceted survey of the discipline.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Ethnography IS a subject heading in the Anthropology Plus database (which searches for journal articles, book chapters, etc...), so enter your subject terms and the word "ethnography" when you do your search.
eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Full-text ethnography materials of the world's cultures. At present, eHRAF indexes only 360 cultures, so for comprehensive treatment of world cultures use the HRAF microfiche collection in Microform Services (Microfiche 285). The collection of ethnography was produced on microfiche from 1950 to 1993. Two guides to the microfiche, Outline of World Cultures and Outline of Cultural Materials are available in Microforms Services (FilmB) GN345.3 .M87 1983.