Research Guides: SAS 355/ANT 395/ENV 381/URB 355: Coastal Justice: Ecologies, Societies, Infrastructures in South Asia: Finding Books and Articles at PUL

Finding Books and Articles via the Catalog and Articles+

Using the PUL Catalog for Books:

Use the catalog to conduct known-item searching (when you have a specific source that you'd like to find), e.g. The great derangement : climate change and the unthinkable / Amitav Ghosh.
If you don't have a specific work in mind, use the catalog to conduct a keyword search. You can significantly narrow your results by using Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) and search modifiers (quotation marks, asterisk, parentheses), e.g. tsunami AND "Sri Lanka" AND activi* .This search uses quotation marks to find "Sri Lanka" as a phrase and uses the asterisk (*) to find multiple iterations of the stem "activi", e.g. activist, activists, activism, activity, activities, etc.
- Use the navigation pane at the left to narrow even further by mode of access, format, subject, publication date, etc.
- Be creative and persistent - play with different Boolean searches to narrow and expand your results. When you find one title that is helpful for you, scour the bibliography to lead you to the next helpful resource. This is called chaining, and it's what most scholars do when they conduct research.
When you find a useful title, scroll through the catalog record to search the other related subject headings.

Using PUL's Articles+ :

Articles+ saves you a lot of time by search several repositories for articles at once.
You will find a variety of content types including journal articles, newspaper articles, book chapters, book reviews, etc.
Use the same techniques above to find what you need for a given topic.

Subject-specific Databases

Abstracts in Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of significant, current scholarship in cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, & linguistics.
Agricola This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic citations to the agricultural literature created by the National Agricultural Library (NAL) and its cooperators. 1970+
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
Encompasses all aspects of the impact of people and technology on the environment and the effectiveness of remedial policies and technologies. As of 1994, the database also provides coverage of energy-related issues. It covers journals, conference papers and proceedings, special reports from international agencies, non-governmental organizations, universities, associations and private corporations. Other materials selectively indexed include monographs, government studies and newsletters. 1975+
Annual Review of Anthropology This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive review of the literature in anthropology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of anthropology.
Anthropological Fieldwork Online This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of the papers of prominent anthropologists in the early 20th century, including Victor Turner, Bronislaw Malinowski, Max Gluckman, and Ruth Benedict.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full text access to peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins through a collaboration between the American Anthropological Association and the University of California Press.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
Records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages. Includes chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc. 1971+
Print back to 1946 at Firestone Reference (DR) & East Asian Library: (GEST) Z3001 .B49. Prior title covering 1936-40 at Gest Z3001.xB8; Cumulative bibliographies covering 1941-65 at GEST Z3001.C94 & Z3001.C93.
Ecology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
One of the 12 subfiles of Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, and separately searchable. Focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers policy issues in a broad range of environmental topics. US and international journals indexed. Subjects include agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, environmental law, geography, marine and freshwater resources, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Formerly known as Environmental Knowledgebase OnLine.
GreenFile This link opens in a new window
Offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Oceanic Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish water environment. Focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aqua culture, non living resources, meteorology and geology, and environmental, technological, and legislative topics. Subjects include wave energy and tidal power.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.

Multidisciplinary Academic Databases for Books and Articles

EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. Also includes full text of many Princeton University Press books as well as books in Classics from many university presses.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online catalog of library holdings. Lists books, journals, maps, recordings, films, scores, and other materials located in public, academic, corporate, school and specialized libraries all over the world. Check Worldcat for holdings of material that are not available at Princeton. Available items may be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Princeton University Library

SAS 355/ANT 395/ENV 381/URB 355: Coastal Justice: Ecologies, Societies, Infrastructures in South Asia

Evaluating Your Sources

Finding Books and Articles via the Catalog and Articles+

Using the PUL Catalog for Books:

Using PUL's Articles+ :

Subject-specific Databases

Multidisciplinary Academic Databases for Books and Articles