Research Guides: WRI125/126 Unlocking the Double Helix: Finding articles using a database

Selected Science/Technology databases

Web of Science (ISI) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
International coverage of journal articles, selected web sites, and patents in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities; provides citation tracking for 1996+ (select coverage for earlier periods) and cited reference searches back to 1970. 1996+
Princeton's Institutional ID (needed for Papers software): 51401.
Medline (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles. 1879+
BIOSIS Previews: Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
With more than 13,000,000 records from publications in over 90 countries, Biosis Previews is the most comprehensive index of journals, meetings, conferences, and symposia in the life sciences. Although this is not a full-text article database, our PULinks system conveniently links you to the full-text

Ebsco Academic Search
Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals.

Selected Sociology / Psychology / Anthropology databases

More Sociology, Psychology and Anthrolopology Databases

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracting of the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, both theoretical and applied. Covers 2,500 journals, conference papers, dissertations, and book reviews. Includes materials in 30 languages.
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Psychological Association, it is the most comprehensive database of psychology. Provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences (2nd ed.) This link opens in a new window
Covering 26 volumes in print, this major encyclopedia aims to capture the "state of the art" of the social and behavioral sciences, expanding its focus to include related biological fields, such as evolutionary science, genetics, cognitive neuroscience, psychiatry, and health. Topics include anthropology, archaeology, demography, economics, education, geography, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, political science, psychiatry, psychology, and sociology.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. 1800+
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers. 1886+

Selected History/Economics/Political Science Databases

More Sociology, Psychology and Anthrolopology Databases

Historical Abstracts
Indexes books, dissertations, and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
PAIS: Public Affairs Information Service
Citations to articles, books, reports, and select government documents on U.S. and international public policy issue. Generally considered to be a comprehensive index to policy literature.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology and allied fields. Coverage includes all languages in which these materials are published.
International Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts in English or French to articles selected from over 1,000 international journals. Topics covered include political science method and theory, political thinkers and ideas, governmental and administrative institutions, political process, international relations, and national and area studies
EconLit
Indexes international economic literature. Includes major journals, articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, full-text book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
ABI/Inform
Worldwide business periodicals. In-depth coverage of business & economic conditions, management techniques, theory, & practice of business, advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, & taxation.

History of Science Supporting Resources

Reader’s guide to the history of science
London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000
History Reference (SH). Firestone Q125 .R335 2000

Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology, and medicine in non-western cultures
Berlin; New York: Springer, c2008.
History Reference (SH). Firestone Q124.8 .E53 2008

Isis cumulative bibliography (1913-1995)
Firestone Library (F): Z7405.H6 xI199 (covers 1913-65); Z7405.H6 xI2 (1966-75); Z7405.H6 I22 (1976-85); Z7405.H6 I2 Suppl.3 (1986-95)

Cambridge history of science

Companion to the history of modern science. Edited by R.C. Olby ... [et al.]. London; New York: Routledge, 1990.
History Reference (SH). Firestone Q125 .C565 1990

A companion to the philosophy of science [electronic resource]. Edited by W.H. Newton-Smith.Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Pub., 2001.

A companion to American technology [electronic resource]. Edited by Carroll Pursell. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.

The Oxford companion to the history of modern science. Editor in chief, John L. Heilbron ; editors, James Bartholomew ... [et al.]. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2003.