Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford UP Resources
There are several annotated bibliographies related to Ancient Egypt that point to relevant books, articles, websites, etc. See Ancient Egyptian Art by Gay Robins, for example. Search for "ancient egypt" in the search box at the top right.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Gateway to several important art historical reference tools, most notably, the Grove Dictionary of Art (Grove Art Online) and Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006 English ed.). Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art (2001), The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms (2001), The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (1998), a database of images and more.
Non-art databases/encyclopedias useful for this subject
Abzu This link opens in a new window
Database of networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world.
Dyabola This link opens in a new window
Projekt Dyabola provides access to the multilingual and regularly updated Archaeological Bibliography, containing book, article and web-based citations from 1956 to the present based on acquisitions at notable archaeological institutes in Europe. Additional resources related to ancient art, archaeology and history are also available. Once in, check the box at the top "activate IP access and press Start".
Encyclopedia of the Ancient World This link opens in a new window
Covers the late Bronze Age through the seventh century CE., extending to all Mediterranean civilizations, including the Near East and Egypt.
Gnomon Online This link opens in a new window
Indexes journals in classical philology, ancient history, and archaeology. Based on the journal Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift fur die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft. A good supplement to L'Annee Philologique since it provides more recent citations.
Online Egyptological Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of academic literature on ancient Egypt.
NOTE: Due to COVID-19, access is currently free. On the OEB homepage, click "log in" and then use:
Trismegistos This link opens in a new window
Database of metadata and, when available, links to images of "texts from the ancient world, particularly late period Egypt and the Nile valley (roughly BC 800 and 800 AD)."
List of Relevant Websites & Digital Collections