Firestone is the largest of PU's libraries, which covers the Humanities and Social Sciences broadly. See Call Number information with locations here. Watch a short overview video of the building here.
Special services:
Center for Digital Humanities
Data and Statistical Services
Microforms
Video Services
During the academic year, visit the Bookfinders desk on B Floor for help finding material in Firestone (M-F, 1-5pm).
Physical course reserve materials are available at the Firestone Circulation Desk or Marquand Library, Scribner Atrium, C Floor (supply the call number). Electronic reserves materials are available via Canvas for the course in question. More information about course reserves may be found here.
Marquand Library, normally located in McCormick Hall next to the PU Art Museum, is one of the most notable art history, architecture, and archaeology libraries in North America, used by the Princeton community and visited by students and scholars from all over the world. One will find books and exhibition catalogs that are not available widely. Marquand also has a sizeable and growing rare book collection. More information about Marquand is available on its website.
As of March 2021, Marquand is located in two reading rooms in Firestone Library (C Floor) while a new Art Museum is being constructed. The physical collections are all off-site and requests--including for scans--must be made via the library catalog. Use Article Express for scans as a backup if requesting via the catalog is not possible. Email marquand@princeton.edu with any questions about using the art collection.
Marquand is non-circulating so no art book may leave the C-Floor rooms. Any item in use by someone else (i.e. on a shelf or in a faculty/curator office) will have status ASK STAFF. Ask at a staffed desk or email as to the whereabouts of an item. (In some cases, "Ask Staff" books are not yet physically at Princeton, i.e. "on order.")
You can access the library's onlne resources while off campus by using SonicWall or Proxy Server (aka EZProxy).
See the Connect from Off Campus page for more details and instructions.
If having problems with a specific electronic resource, can use the library chat ("Ask-a-Librarian") or e-mail esupport@princeton.edu and let us know how you are accessing the resource, what browser, etc. There are a handful of databases that are not available remotely, mainly in the realm of business & finance.
These libraries located across Washington Road from the Frist Campus Center cover the sciences and engineering.
Lewis/Engineering have several items that may be of interest:
Maps and Geospatial Center
Makerspace
Materials Collection
Group Study Rooms
RECAP and FORRESTAL ANNEX are off-site locations. Normally, these items are requested via the library catalog and one must designate a pickup library of choice [Marquand ReCAP materials may only be consulted in Marquand]. Requests take a day or two to arrive (excluding weekends - LONGER for Marquand materials during Art Museum construction). You will be notified via e-mail address when the item is available for pickup.
The Forrestal Annex contains older humanities materials and multiple copies of reserve titles. ReCAP includes many Princeton items as well as items owned by Columbia University, New York Public Library, and Harvard: records for these last will have a C, N or H at the bottom (and "SCSB" in the URL) and may be requested much like Princeton ReCAP items. If possible, look for and request the Princeton copy of a title, as you can do more with it and we can scan more from it.
School of Architecture Library
(Located on 2nd Floor of Architecture building)
Guide to conducting architecture research
