American Music--Music in the United States: A Guide to Research and Resources

An inventory of the musical examples from the 1st edition of Southern's seminal work on Black Americans. Provides full-text open access to the complete scores of almost all examples. Note: You will encounter offensive language and disturbing imagery on this website. Find the book itself at call number ML3556 .S74 1997.

The largest, most comprehensive reference publication on American Music. Note: use the search box in the left sidebar! You do not need to sign in. Also available in print.

From musical comedy to world beat, from the songs of the Arctic to rap and house music, from Hispanic Texas to the Chinese communities of Vancouver, the coverage captures the rich diversity and continuities of the vibrant music we hear around us. Special attention is paid to recent immigrant groups, to Native American traditions, and to such socio-musical topics as class, race, gender, religion, government policy, media, and technology. Also available in print (possibly easier to navigate).

Contains a chronology, complete list of works, detailed discography, and fully annotated bibliography of over 1,000 books, articles, interviews, video recordings, and Carter's own writings.

An annotated reference guide to Barber's life, works and achievements.

Includes annotations on Bernstein's writings, performances, educational work, and major secondary sources. Updated to include research since the 1st edition was published in 2001, as well as online resources.

Focuses on documentary studies, archival resources, scholarly research, and autobiographical materials, and places the composer and his work in a larger context of postmodern philosophy, art and theater movements, and contemporary politics.

With informative annotations and nearly two hundred new entries, this greatly expanded, updated, and revised guide offers a key survey of the field.

Explores a wide range of fiddle traditions and fiddlers in Canada and the United States, including North American fiddling with strong ties to Europe

Comprehensive coverage of English-language academic books, journal articles, and dissertations, and selective coverage of trade books, popular periodicals, documentary films, scores, Masters theses, online texts, and materials in other languages

Third edition of an annotated bibliography to books, recordings, videos, and websites in the field of jazz

A bibliography; part of the Garland reference library of the humanities

Covering everything from traditional subject matter such as the organ works of J.S. Bach to newer areas of inquiry including folk hymnology, women and African-American composers, music as a spiritual healer, to the music of Mormon, Shaker, Moravian, and other smaller sects.