Images
Yahya al-Hubb [Long Live Love] (Egypt, 1938)
Cairo: credits lost, but probably al-Cinema al-'Arabiyah Printing
“Gassour” [Hassan Mazhar Gassour, 1925-1992]; undated
Director: Muhammad Karim (1896-1972)
Actors listed: Muhammad ‘Abd al-Wahab and Layla Murad
al-Tariq al-Mustaqim [The Straight Path] (Egypt, 1943)
Cairo: al-Cinema al-'Arabiyah, H. Gassour Printing
“Gassour” [Hassan Mazhar Gassour, 1925-1992]; undated
Director: Togo Mizrahi (1905-1986)
Actors listed: Yusuf Wahbi, Fatima Rushdi, Amina Rizq, and Bishara Wakim
Working with Primary Source Materials
"A primary source is a document or physical object which was written or created during the time under study. These sources were present during an experience or time period and offer an inside view of a particular event."-Princeton University RefDesk.
The Department of Special Collections functions as the repository for Princeton's Near East Special Collections.
Working with primary source materials requires tools that differ slightly from those used when working with secondary source materials. Finding aids, databases, preliminary checklists, collection catalogues and descriptive lists have been created to assist researchers in finding materials within each collection.
Access to the non-circulating collections housed in Special Collections may or may not be limited, and they may only be used within Special Collection's reading rooms.
For more information on RBSC and Princeton's various research tools for locating primary source materials, please click on the links below.
Special Collections Access - please read these guidelines to learn how to create a Special Collections account and request to view items in Special Collections.
Items in Special Collections can be searched using the Special Collections library location facet in the library catalog.
Finding Aids website - Use this site to explore descriptions of archival holdings at the Princeton University Libraries, including documents, photographs, and more one-of-a-kind material.
Near East Collections in Special Collections - include more than 20,000 titles in 11,000 codexes; predominantly in Arabic. In addition to manuscripts, the Collections also include movie posters and lobby cards, papyri, calligraphy, cuneiform tablets, stone seals, a numismatic collection, and modern and personal papers relating to the Near East.
Study Rooms and Reading Rooms in Firestone Library
Near Eastern Studies Graduate Study Room (SNE) The Near Eastern Studies Graduate Study Room (SNE) houses a sizable non-circulating reference collection, with an emphasis on literary, historical, legal, and religious topics in the Near East.
Special Collections Reading Rooms The non-circulating collections housed in Special Collections may only be used within Special Collection's reading rooms. These materials must be requested using a Special Collections account, which you can create by selecting the above link.