Skip to main content

Near East Collections: Manuscript Resources at Princeton University and Beyond: HOME

This guide will introduce you to our Near East Manuscript Collections and available resources at Princeton University. The guide also provides useful information and links for other manuscript collections and resources worldwide.

PATRON SUGGESTIONS & REQUESTS

If you have general suggestions for this Library Guide, please e-mail Rachel Simon, interim Near Eastern Studies Librarian, directly.

Special Collections Assistant (Near East)

Kim Leaman's picture
Kim Leaman
Contact:
Firestone Library

Tel: (609) 258 5307

e-mail: kleaman@princeton.edu

WELCOME

This library guide will introduce you to the Near East Manuscript Collections and available resources here at Princeton University. The guide also provides useful information and links for other manuscript collections and resources that exist in North America, Europe, South and East Asia, the Near and Middle East, and Africa. 

Scholars are encouraged to submit links, titles, and information that would be useful to include in this guide to the Near East Collections Curator.

Scholars with specific questions and/or requests regarding Princeton's manuscript collections may contact the Manuscripts Division of Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC) at Princeton University.

 

Some text within the box descriptions of this guide has been taken from websites and online guides; other descriptions were written by K. E. Leaman or Princeton University Library staff.

MANUSCRIPT COLLECTIONS AT PRINCETON UNIVERSITY

Selections from Album of miniatures and specimens of calligraphy of Indian origin.

The Princeton University Library's Near East Manuscript Collections include more than 20,000 titles in 11,000 codexes; predominantly in Arabic, but there are also many in Persian and Ottoman Turkish.  The Collections owe an enormous debt to Robert Garrett (class of 1897), who in 1942 gave to Princeton his superb collection of Arabic, Persian, and Turkish manuscripts, and then added the gift of the Yahuda Collection in 1943, which contains over 5,000 medieval Arabic items.  The Garrett Collection is one of the most important scholarly resources of the Library's Near East Collections, and accounts for approximately two-thirds of what is considered the greatest Collection of its kind in North America.

In addition to manuscripts, the Library holds modern and personal papers relating to the Near East Collections and is also home to the S.D. Goitein Laboratory for Geniza Research and the Computer Geniza Project.

The Collections are housed in the Manuscripts Division of Rare Books and Special Collections (RBSC) at Firestone Library and at the Seeley G. Mudd Manuscript Library.

MANUSCRIPT COLLECTIONS & RESOURCES BEYOND PRINCETON

A wealth of information—such as image galleries, descriptive lists, and catalogs—concerning manuscript libraries and collections has been made more accessible thanks to the digital initiatives of individuals and institutions from around the world.

This guide has organized links to online manuscript libraries, collections, and catalogs alphabetically and by geographic area. 

COPYRIGHT RESTRICTIONS FOR IMAGES

Copyright for all images in this Library Guide lies with the named individual or institution. Permission to use these images must be requested from the relevant source.