General Works Useful for an Introduction to Your Research
Encyclopedia of the Cold War by Ruud van Dijk (Editor); Svetlana Savranskaya (Editor); William Glenn Gray (Editor); Jeremi Suri (Editor); Qiang Zhai (Editor)
Call Number: History Reference D840 .E625 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-15
Between 1945 and 1991, tension between the USA, its allies, and a group of nations led by the USSR, dominated world politics. This period was called the Cold War - a conflict that stopped short to a full-blown war. Benefiting from the recent research of newly open archives, the Encyclopedia of the Cold War discusses how this state of perpetual tensions arose, developed, and was resolved. This work examines the military, economic, diplomatic, and political evolution of the conflict as well as its impact on the different regions and cultures of the world. Using a unique geopolitical approach that will present Russian perspectives and others, the work covers all aspects of the Cold War, from communism to nuclear escalation and from UFOs to red diaper babies, highlighting its vast-ranging and lasting impact on international relations as well as on daily life. Although the work will focus on the 1945-1991 period, it will explore the roots of the conflict, starting with the formation of the Soviet state, and its legacy to the present day.
Cold War by James R. Arnold (Editor); Roberta Wiener (Editor)
Call Number: D840 .C645 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-16
The impact of the Cold War is still being felt around the world today. This insightful single-volume reference captures the events and personalities of the era, while also inspiring critical thinking about this still-controversial period. * Several analytical essays by prominent historians, plus 85 additional A-Z reference entries about conflicts, incidents, leaders, and issues * 35 examples of relevant primary source documents, including speeches, treaties, policy statements, and letters, such as the Marshall Plan and Winston Churchill's "Iron Curtain" speech * A detailed chronology of important events that occurred before, during, and after the Cold War * Numerous maps and images of key leaders and events * A comprehensive bibliography of print resources
Call Number: History Reference E181 .O95 2013 (also online)
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History, a two-volume set, will offer both assessment and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States. At a time of war, in which ongoing efforts to recalibrate Americandiplomacy are as imperative as they are perilous, the Oxford Encyclopedia will present itself as the first recourse for scholars wishing to deepen their understanding of the crucial features of the historical and contemporary foreign policy landscape and its perennially martial components.Entries will be written by the top diplomatic and military historians and key scholars of international relations from within the American academy, supplemented, as is appropriate for an encyclopedia of diplomacy, with entries from foreign-based academics, in the United Kingdom and elsewhere.The crucial importance of the subject is reflected in the popularity of university courses dedicated to diplomatic and military history and the enduring appeal of international relations (IR) as a political science discipline drawing on both. The Oxford Encyclopedia will be a basic reference toolacross both disciplines - a potentially very significant market.
An essential resource for anyone interested in U.S. history and politics, this two-volume encyclopedia covers the major forces that have shaped American politics from the founding to today. Broad in scope, the book addresses both the traditional topics of political history--such as eras, institutions, political parties, presidents, and founding documents--and the wider subjects of current scholarship, including military, electoral, and economic events, as well as social movements, popular culture, religion, education, race, gender, and more. Each article, specially commissioned for this book, goes beyond basic facts to provide readers with crucial context, expert analysis, and informed perspectives on the evolution of American politics. Written by more than 170 leading historians and social scientists, The Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History gives students, scholars, and researchers authoritative introductions to the subject's most important topics and a first step to further research. Features nearly 190 entries, organized alphabetically and written by a distinguished team of scholars, including Dean Baker, Lewis L. Gould, Alexander Keyssar, James T. Kloppenberg, Patricia Nelson Limerick, Lisa McGirr, Mark A. Noll, Jack N. Rakove, Nick Salvatore, Stephen Skowronek, Jeremi Suri, and Julian E. Zelizer Describes key political periods and eras, from the founding to the present day Traces the history of political institutions, parties, and founding documents Explains ideas, philosophies, and movements that shaped American politics Presents the political history and influence of geographic regions Describes the roles of ethnic, racial, and religious groups in the political process Explores the influence of mass culture, from political cartoons to the Internet Examines recurring issues that shape political campaigns and policy, from class, gender, and race to crime, education, taxation, voting, welfare, and much more Includes bibliographies, cross-references, appendixes, a comprehensive index, and more than 50 illustrations and maps
American Political Culture by Michael Shally-Jensen (Editor); Ted G. Jelen; Mark J. Rozell
Call Number: E169.12 .A428 2015
Publication Date: 2015-04-28
This all-encompassing encyclopedia provides a broad perspective on U.S. politics, culture, and society, but also goes beyond the facts to consider the myths, ideals, and values that help shape and define the nation. * Offers approximately 225 entries covering U.S. politics, culture, society, and beliefs * Includes an introductory overview of the forces that have shaped and continue to shape American political culture and a concluding essay that gathers key thematic threads and looks toward the future * Covers the myriad ways in which American political culture influences other aspects of American society * Examines how cultural symbols and beliefs are manipulated to advance political interests and establish government authority * Connects new issues such as social media and sexual politics with the political culture
American Conservatism: An Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive reference volume to cover what is surely the most influential political and intellectual movement of the last half century. More than a decade in the makingand more than half a million words in length'this informative and entertaining encyclopedia contains substantive entries of up to two thousand words on those persons, events, organizations, and concepts of major importance to postwar American conservatism. Its contributors include iconic patriarchs of the conservative and libertarian movements, including Russell Kirk, M. E. Bradford, Gerhart Niemeyer, Stephen J. Tonsor, Peter Stanlis, and Murray Rothbard; celebrated scholars such as George H. Nash, Peter Augustine Lawler, Allan Carlson, Daniel J. Mahoney, Wilfred McClay, Elizabeth Fox-Genovese, George W. Carey, and Paul Gottfried; well-known authors, including George Weigel, Lee Edwards, Richard Brookhiser, and Gregory Wolfe; and influential movement activists and leaders such as M. Stanton Evans, Morton Blackwell, Leonard Liggio, and Llewellyn Rockwell. Ranging from abortion to Zoll, Donald Atwell, and written from viewpoints as various as those which have informed the postwar conservative movement itself, the encyclopedia's more than 600 entries will orient readers of all kinds to the people and ideas that have given shape to contemporary American conservatism. This long-awaited volume is not to be missed.
The Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History surveys the richly layered dimensions of American life in a format that clarifies the many issues, ideas, movements and places that constitute the American experience. How is the West defined as a cultural region? What did the notions of "secession" and "union" mean to Americans living in the 1860s? How does Disney pervade and influence perceptions about America today? In more than 200 articles written by scholars and enriched with illustrations, boxed biographies and documentary excerpts from primary sources, American thought and culture is thoroughly explored. The Encyclopedia covers not only historic periods such as the Colonial era and the Reagan era, but also looks at cultural groups such as the working class and cultural institutions and forms such as the university and cinema.
An Encyclopedia of American Culture by Marek Golebiowski
Call Number: E169.1 .G63513 2016
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
This encyclopedia aims to provide a ready reference to various aspects of American culture. The time frame is from the colonial period to the end of the 20thcentury. The areas covered are fine arts (painting, sculpture, photography); performing arts (music, ballet, theatre, film); architecture; literature; and various non-artistic forms of culture (symbolic, material, culinary).
The American Middle Class by Robert S. Rycroft (Editor)
Call Number: HT690.U6 A465 2017
Publication Date: 2017-05-12
What is the "American Dream"? This book's author argues that contrary to what many believe, it is not achieving the wealth necessary to enter the top one percent but rather becoming members of the great middle class by dint of hard work and self-discipline. * Includes content related to all the themes of the National Curriculum Standards for Social Studies and the Common Core requirements for primary documents and critical thinking exercises * Focuses on the intersections of middle class society to current issues of interest and policy debates, including diversity, gender, taxation, race, minimum wage, unions, student loan interest rates, school closings, and labor issues * Documents the perspectives of the major economists of each era on the middle class
Women in American History by Peg A. Lamphier (Editor); Rosanne Marie Welch (Editor)
This four-volume set documents the complexity and richness of women's contributions to American history and culture, empowering all students by demonstrating a more populist approach to the past. * Provides significantly more detail than typical reference works on women's history and culture, enabling readers to better appreciate the contributions of women of all socio-cultural statuses * Covers the astounding range of American women's experience, including women of various economic and racial statuses, religious affiliations, political and ideological identifications, and sexualities * Includes a significant selection of primary documents, thereby combining the educational power of secondary and primary literature to create a richer learning experience for users
The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of Marxism covers of the basics of Karl Marx's thought, the philosophical contributions of later Marxist theorists, and the extensive real-world political organizations and structures his work inspired--that is, the myriad political parties, organizations, countries, and leaders who subscribed to Marxism as a creed. This text includes a chronology, an introductory essay, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 500 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, both thinkers and doers; political parties and movements; and major communist or ex-communist countries. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about Marxism.
SAGE Reference is proud to announce the Encyclopedia of United States National Security, Two-Volume Set. The Encyclopedia covers the origin, development and results of all major US national security policies over the last seven decades. National security has been a widely debated, yet highly researched topic that has tremendous global scope. However, there has never been a single, concise reference source to aid students in providing accurate and informative answers to the many challenging questions of how, why, when and where US national security evolved. A thoroughly interdisciplinary work, the Encyclopedia views US national security from a historical, economic, political and technological perspective. This Two-VolumeSset is arranged alphabetically and includes over 750 entries. Over 200 of the articles are signed. This, first of its kind encyclopedia, is a must-have resource for all academic and public libraries. Entries are arranged into the following categories: Politics/policy making; Economics; Technology; Wars; Presidential Administrations; Foreign Relations; and Strategic Policy.
Encyclopedia of Cold War Espionage, Spies, and Secret Operations by Richard C. S. Trahair; Robert L. Miller (Preface by)
Call Number: Trustee Reading Room UB270 .T73 2009
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
The cold war officially lasted from 1945 to 1991; however, many operations and individual spies often are found beyond these dates, with some previously unknown operations and names having surfaced only recently. Based on all the latest research, the core part of the book consists of over 330 individual entries that include biographical accounts of the lives and operations the individual spies and secret agents took part in. In support of the entries, the book provides important useful tools: a complete chronology of significant espionage activities; a glossary of key terms and figures providing additional background to the entries; references to other sources, either in print or electronic formats; and extensive cross-references for all entries. Reaching as far back as 1917 and the Soviet seizure of power in Russia, Encyclopedia of Cold War Espionage, Spies, and Secret Operations covers the entire range of Soviet Bloc and Western espionage. The book explores in depth the critical cold war years, 1945–1991, alongside all the extended ramifications of espionage, up to the spies and operations most recently unveiled. The bulk of the entries centers on the cold war conflict of the United States and NATO-allied countries against the USSR and Communist China, though many other countries were involved in cold war espionage operations as well. Selected fictional characters and operations created by John LeCarr#65533;, Ian Fleming, and Robert Littell are also included in a separate section due to the image, accurate or imaginary, of the intelligence operative that was either reviled by the professionals or enthusiastically embraced by the general public.
Surveillance in America by Pam Dixon (Editor)
Call Number: Dixon Books KF5399 .S87 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-12
An excellent resource for high school and college students, this book surveys the size, scope, and nature of government surveillance in 21st-century America, with a particular focus on technology-enabled surveillance and its impact on privacy and other civil liberties. * Provides up-to-date perspectives on the current-day challenges regarding surveillance in America and recent events such as government response to Edward Snowden that tie these modern topics to the historic roots of surveillance issues in the United States * Presents information that is accessible and useful both to those with little understanding of technology and those who are tech-savvy * Impartially explains the full range of perspectives on relationship/tradeoffs between national security and crime-fighting benefits of surveillance and the erosion of personal liberties and privacy * Includes primary source documents such as essential laws, court rulings, Justice Department statements, presidential statements, and Congressional testimony from national security experts and civil liberties advocates
Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations by Oliver Ramsbotham; Tom Woodhouse
Call Number: JZ6374 .R36 1999
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
Encyclopedia of International Peacekeeping Operations analyzes the broad national, regional, cultural, and international contexts of peacekeeping. Special focus is placed on such contemporary issues as human rights, peacebuilding from below, conflict resolution theory, civilian peacekeeping, gender considerations, and women in peacekeeping. The coverage is enhanced by a chronology, charts, maps, a list of acronyms, an annotated bibliography, and references to key websites.
The Harry S. Truman Encyclopedia by Richard S. Kirkendall (Editor)
Call Number: E814 .H336 1989
Publication Date: 1990-01-01
The second volume in Hall's Presidential enclyclopedia series, this reference contains more than 300 biographical and topical articles by eminent historians, political scientists and economists on every aspect of Harry S. Truman's life and times.
The Law of Armed Conflict and the Use of Force by Frauke Lachenmann (Editor); Rüdiger Wolfrum (Editor)
Call Number: KZ6385 .L382 2017
Publication Date: 2017-02-22
This volume brings together articles on the law of armed conflict and the use of force from the Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law, the definitive reference work on international law. It provides an invaluable resources for scholars, students, and practitioners of international humanitarian law, giving an accessible, thorough overview of all aspects of the field. Each article contains cross-references to related articles, and includes a carefully selected bibliography of the most important writings and primary materials as a guide to further reading. The Encyclopedia can be used by a wide range of readers. Experienced scholars and practitioners will find a wealth of information on areas that they do not already know well as well as in-depth treatments on every aspect of their specialist topics. Articles can also be set as readings for students on taught courses.
Belligerents, Brinkmanship, and the Big Stick by John M. Dobson
Call Number: E183.7 .D59 2009
Publication Date: 2009-07-14
This encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the concepts, traditions, events, and individuals that shaped United States' foreign relations from the American Revolution to the present. * Five chronologically arranged sections, each with an introduction that describes key events and relationships * Over 200 chronological and alphabetic listings of major concepts and events in the history of American foreign relations as well as brief biographical entries on individuals who made major diplomatic contributions * Excerpts from a number of key foreign policy documents, statements, and treaties that relate to the subject and individual entries * Maps Illustrating the results of various treaties and international agreements as well as photographs and illustrations of key individuals and events * Bibliographic listings of print and online resources for each entry, enabling readers to explore topics further * A comprehensive index plus alphebetical and subject area listings of entries in each section
Weapons of Mass Destruction by Jeffrey A. Larsen (Editor); James J. Wirtz (Editor); Eric A. Croddy (Editor)
Call Number: Trustee Reading Room U793 .W427 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-22
The first accessible reference to cover the history, context, current issues, and key concepts surrounding biological, chemical, and nuclear weapons. * Over 500 A-Z entries written by 95 international experts, organized in two volumes divided by types of weapons * Timeline that covers leading political, military, and weapons-specific events since 1945 * Excerpts from key international documents * Combined index (with volume numbers noted) at the end of each volume * Includes numerous illustrations and photographs
Encyclopedia of the Atomic Age by Rodney P. Carlisle (Editor)
Call Number: QC773 .E49 2001
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
The last half of the 20th century has often been called the Atomic Age, a name that has not faded even with the end of the cold war. Nuclear testing in India and Pakistan
Historical Encyclopedia of Atomic Energy by Stephen E. Atkins
Call Number: QC772 .A87 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-30
From the Manhattan Project to Chernobyl, in war and in peace, this is the only encyclopedia to cover the development of atomic energy in the 20th century. More than 450 alphabetically organized entries trace the history of atomic energy from the discovery of the explosive potential of the atom to the development of atomic energy as a force for war and for peace and the issues raised by its use. The encyclopedia has been designed and written to meet the information needs of high school students and the general public. Entries include scientific processes, terms and concepts, nuclear accidents, atomic testing, protest movements, treaties and national and international organizations, nuclear programs and facilities in many countries and biographical profiles of scientists and government leaders responsible for the development and decisions regarding atomic energy. The encyclopedia provides the most current information available on these topics. Each entry concludes with a suggested reading. The encyclopedia includes a timeline of important events in the global development of atomic energy, more than 30 photos, and a selected general bibliography. The encyclopedia covers all five phases of the development of atomic energy: (1) the discovery of the atom's potential and the mobilization of scientists for work on an atomic weapon; (2) the race to build a bomb, which resulted in the U.S. detonation of atomic bombs on Hiroshima and Nagasaki; (3) the period from 1945 to 1960, in which other powers developed nuclear weapons and the United States built a hydrogen bomb; (4) the period from 1960 to 1980, which saw the development of nuclear reactors for domestic energy and concluded with the Three Mile Island accident; and (5) the period from 1980 to the present, which sees protest movements and serious examination of the issue of atomic energy as a public good. This definitive encyclopedia fills an important gap in information on this topic in the school and public library.
Spaceflight by Patrick J. Walsh
Call Number: Engineering Library TL788 .W35 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-09
This book is a comprehensive history of the first six decades of space exploration, from the end of World War II to the modern era of routine international cooperation in space. * Comprises 700 A-Z entries covering every human spaceflight and all significant robotic space exploration programs, with hundreds of biographical entries * Includes 148 beautiful and historic photographs illustrating all major articles, including international (non-U.S., non-Russian) space programs, action photos showing astronauts and cosmonauts at work in space, and photos of space vehicles and equipment * Provides bibliographic listings, organized by topic, of print and online sources for further reading * Includes complete chronologies of the space shuttle and Soyuz programs through 2008
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Space by Isabelle Sourbès-Verger; Fernand Verger; Isabelle Sourbes-Verger; Raymond Ghirardi; Xavier Pasco (Contribution by); Frances Brown (Translator); John M. Logsdon (Foreword by); Stephen Lyle (Translator); Paul Reilly (Translator)
Call Number: Lewis Library TL788 .V48 2002
Publication Date: 2003-08-21
Since the launch of Sputnik in 1957, over 8000 satellites and spacecraft have been launched from over 30 countries, costing hundreds of billions of dollars. Over 350 people have made the incredible journey beyond our atmosphere and we all benefit in countless ways from the use of space. This unique Encyclopedia aims to give a global perspective of our occupation and use of space, whether scientific, industrial, commercial, technical or military. After setting the stage by describing the space environment, orbits and ground tracks, launchers and launch sites, the authors go on to discuss the main space applications (telecommunications, navigation and Earth observation, military), plus science missions, planetary exploration and space stations. The wealth of full-colour illustrations make all the information highly accessible, resulting in an invaluable source for everyone interested in our use of space, and the perfect reference book for those working in, or studying, the space arena.