Finding primary sources - FRS 130 - The Cold War - Research Guides at Princeton University

The source-driven junior paper

Often, the best work arises from close engagement with a primary source. As you read, you'll think of questions or begin to shape an argument. The hard part is to find a primary source that addresses the broad general area of interest. Here are some strategies for finding primary sources:

Check the footnotes, endnotes and bibliography of a good academic book on your topic.
Search the library catalog for the topic you're researching. Add the word "sources", "diaries," "correspondence," or "personal narratives" to find primary sources that are published as books

Primary Sources in the Library

ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Coverage depends on the newspaper. American Hebrew and Jewish Messenger (1857-1922); American Israelite (1854-2000); Arizona Republican (1890-1922); Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010); Austin American Statesman (1871-1980); Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010); Baltimore Sun (1837-1998); Barron's (1921-2010); Boston Globe (1872-1993); Calgary Herald (1883-2010), Call and Post (Cleveland) (1934-1991); Chicago Defender (1909-2010); Chicago Tribune (1849-2014); Christian Science Monitor (1908-2011); Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922);Cleveland Call & Post (1934-2010); Dayton Daily News (1898-1922); Detroit Free Press (1831-1999); Edmonton Journal (1903-2010), Globe & Mail (1844-2020); Guardian and the Observer (1791-2003); Hartford Courant (1764-1998); Hindustan Times (1924-2010); Indianapolis Star (1903-1922); Irish Times (1859-2022); Jerusalem Post (1932-2008); Jewish Advocate (1905-1990); Jewish Exponent (1887-1990); Korea Times (1956-2016); Le Monde (1944-December 30, 2000); Leader-Post (Regina, Saskatchewan) (1883-2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-2015); Louisville Courier Journal (1830-2000); Michigan Chronicle (1936-2010); Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867-2001); Montreal Gazette (1857-2010), Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010); New York Times (1851-2020); New York Tribune (1841-1962); Newsday (1940-1995); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Ottawa Citizen (1845-2010); Philadelphia Inquirer (1860-2001); Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003); Province (1898-2010); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); St. Louis Dispatch (1874-2003); St. Petersburg/Tampa Bay Times (1886-2009); Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009); Scotsman (1817-1950); South China Morning Post (1903-2001); Times-Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010); Times of India (1838-2011); Toronto Star (1894-2021); Vancouver Sun (1912-2010), Wall Street Journal (1889-2011); Washington Post (1877-2007); Windsor Star (1883-2010). Also includes a Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) and a collection of American and British Communist papers (1917-2013).
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text of historical newspapers including titles from all 50 states. Now includes select coverage of some major papers after 1922 through the mid 1990s.
News, Policy and Politics Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Consists of the backfile of 15 major magazines (including the Newsweek archive), spanning areas including current events, international relations, and public policy. Covers history, political science, law and economics. 1918-2015

The Cold War by Jussi M. Hanhimäki (Editor); Odd Arne Westad (Editor)
ISBN: 0198208626
Publication Date: 2003-10-09
The Cold War contains a selection of official and unofficial documents which provide a truly multi-faceted account of the entire Cold War era. The experiences of the East Berlin housewife are placed alongside those of the South African student; the participation of political leaders from Europe and the Third World stand juxtaposed. Not only does this book put a human face on the conflict, but it draws emphasis to the variety of ways in which this conflict was experienced. The final selection of documents illustrates the global impact of the Cold War to the present day, and establishes links between the Cold War and the events of 11th September 2001.
The Cold War Through Documents by Edward H. Judge (Editor); John W. Langdon (Editor)
ISBN: 9781538109250
Publication Date: 2017-10-27
This comprehensive collection of carefully edited documents--speeches, treaties, statements, and articles--traces the rise and fall of the Cold War. The sources follow the Cold War from its roots in East-West tensions at the end of World War II to the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991. Set in historical context by the editors' concise introductions and followed by thoughtful discussion questions, the documents are arranged in chronological order, starting with the Yalta Conference and ending with Gorbachev's resignation speech. Drawing on selections from a variety of countries and leaders involved in this prolonged global struggle, the editors treat the entire Cold War as an era in world history, not just U.S. history. Their judicious selection makes the great events of the time come alive through the words and phrases of those who were actively involved.
The Cold War by Allan M. Winkler
Call Number: D842 .W56 2011
ISBN: 9780199765997
Publication Date: 2011-07-15
The cold war lasted for more than fifty years and polarized the world. Rooted in political and ideological disagreements dating back to the Russian Revolution of 1917, the war emerged from disputes that intensified in the wake of World War II. In The Cold War: A History in Documents, Second Edition, Allan M. Winkler excerpts speeches by Soviet premier Joseph Stalin and British prime minister Winston Churchill in order to demonstrate the growing abyss between the two political systems. President Harry S. Truman's announcement of the existence of a Soviet atomic bomb and his speech to Congress launching the Truman Doctrine testify to the gravity of the situation. The complex politics of the Vietnam War appear in voices of those as divergent as Vietnamese nationalist Ho Chi Minh, President Lyndon B. Johnson, antiwar protestors, and a participant in the My Lai massacre. A picture essay, "The Atom Unleashed," provides a collection of photographs and cartoons tracing one of the most controversial discoveries of the twentieth century. And a final chapter chronicles in detail the end of the cold war. The second edition of The Cold War: A History in Documents offers more thorough coverage of the 1970s through the1990s. The book features additional material on China and Africa, and several new images, including a Herblock editorial cartoon about the Marshall Plan and a French Communist Party poster for peace in Vietnam. There is also a revised note on sources and interpretation and updates to the lists of further reading and websites.
The Cold War by Klaus Larres (Editor); Ann Lane (Editor); Alfred E. Eckes (Contribution by)
Call Number: D843 .C577323 2001
ISBN: 0631207066
Publication Date: 2001-10-08
This collection brings together the most influential and commonly-studied articles on the Cold War. Together with an introduction and concise headnotes, this book provides students with easy access to seminal work and an analytical framework with which to approach their studies.
Conflicts in American History: a documentary encyclopedia. by Matthew J. Bruccoli; Zoe Trodd; C. Bríd Nicholson; Laymen; Manly; Robert J. Allison; Edward J. Blum; Anthony J. Connors; Brian L. Johnson; Kent McConnell; Kimberly K. Porter
Call Number: E174 .C655 2010
ISBN: 9780816070930
Publication Date: 2010-09-01
For more than four centuries, new ideas, principles, and events have caused major conflicts in American history - concerning such vital issues as slavery, freedom, democracy, immigration, and equality. It is through these very conflicts that American history is taught, and increasingly, this history is being taught through documents. From introducing slavery and breaking away from England in the colonial period to the Civil War in the 19th century, the civil rights movement in the 20th century, and the war in Iraq today, every era has been marked by conflicts in which Americans have fought passionately for what they believed in. All of these conflicts have defined what America is, and all of them can be studied through historical documents. ""Conflicts in American History: A Documentary Encyclopedia"" explores the conflicts, controversies, and ideas that have made American civilization unique and distinctive. Blending narrative essays and primary sources, this new, comprehensive eight-volume encyclopedia provides students with the background they need to understand American history and the skills required to read and interpret the important documents that have shaped our nation. Each volume focuses on one distinct chronological era and the conflicts that defined it. Consisting of 15-20 manageable chapters, with each chapter devoted to one specific conflict and containing 10-15 original documents, every volume begins with a general overview essay that introduces the major conflicts, issues, and controversies of the period, as well as key figures and events. A chronology and a bibliography are included in each chapter. Each volume of the encyclopedia features approximately 250-350 original documents, a master bibliography, and a lengthy appendix with biographical sketches of 50-100 individuals mentioned in the documents or central to the period. A master index is included for the entire set in the final volume.

The Documentary History of the John F. Kennedy Presidency by Lewis L. Gould
Call Number: E841 .D575 2005
ISBN: 0886926963
Publication Date: 2005-01-01

Proquest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Indexes publications of the U.S. Congress such as hearings 1824+ (including previously unpublished hearings: Senate 1824-1992 and House 1833-1982), committee reports, documents and prints. Material is available in microfiche and/or electronic. Essential tool for doing legislative history research. Includes Congressional Research Reports from 1916+, Bills & Laws 1789+, U.S. Serial Set from 1789+, Annals of Congress from 1789-1824, Register of Debates from 1824-1837, Congressional Globe from 1833-1873, and Congressional Record from 1873+. Also includes Executive Branch Documents 1789-1948 and Executive Orders and Presidential Proclamations 1789+.

The Creation of the Intelligence Community: Founding Documents by Center for the Study of Intelligence (U.S.) (Editor)
Call Number: online
ISBN: 9780160909375
Publication Date: 2012-07-11
President Truman shuttered the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) as an unneeded, wartime-only special operations/quasi-intelligence agency. The State Department, the Navy, and the War Department quickly recognized that a secret information vacuum loomed and urged the creation of something to replace OSS. These previously declassified and released documents present the thoughtful albeit tortuous and contentious creation of CIA, culminating in the National Security Act of 1947. The declassified historic material dissects the twists and turns and displays the considerable political and legal finesse required to assess the many plans, suggestions, maneuvers and actions that ultimately led to the establishment of the Central Intelligence Agency and other national security entities, which included the incorporation of special safeguards to protect civil liberties. Copies of selected intelligence documents and a timeline of miliestones in the creation of the US Intelligence Community from 1941 through 1964 are included in this resource.

Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new window
Access to a wealth of significant primary documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Divided into various core collections; each contains a diverse range of policy documents including presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material.
National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Books This link opens in a new window
Library and archive of declassifed United States documents received through the Freedom of Information Act.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Indexing and full-text access to a rich collection of declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others covering events following Word War II. Some specialized collection is contained in Archives Unbound. 1914+
For items declassified prior to this index, see The Declassified Documents Reference System - Retrospective Collection (Firestone) Z1223.Z7D36.

Weapons of Mass Destruction
Documents from the United States military, Atomic Energy Commission, Department of State, Central Intelligence Agency, White House, and other agencies detailing the development of nuclear, chemical, and biological weapons for use by American forces, from 1942-present.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
Translation service of the U.S. Government, usually attributed to the Central Intelligence Agency. It covered political, military, economic, environmental and sociological news and commentary, as well as scientific and technical information.
For later years see World News Connection.
Confidential Print: North America, 1824-1961 This link opens in a new window
Reproduces records relating to Canada, the Caribbean and the US from the British Foreign and Colonial Offices in the UK National Archives.
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Collection of Communist American and British papers: The Daily Worker (1936-1958); The Ohio Socialist (1917-1919); People's Daily World (1986-1990); People's Weekly World (1990-2013); Sunday Worker (1936-1958); The Toiler (1919-1922); The Worker (1922-1924); New York; and The Worker (1958-1968); London.

Left of Liberalism: Marxist-Socialist Newspapers, 1900-2015

Mary Ferrell Foundation This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of documents related to the assassinations of John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King Jr., Robert F. Kennedy, the Watergate scandal, and post-Watergate investigations into abuses of the CIA and other intelligence agencies.

U.S. and U.N. Government Documents
For assistance with government and United Nations documents, contact David Hollander (dholland@princeton.edu)

Archives Unbound This link opens in a new window
Includes collections on "Cold War Voices" and files from presidential administrations from Johnson through Carter
History Vault This link opens in a new window
Includes State Department files from the 1960s and 1970s, and files from presidential administrations from Truman through Nixon

AM explorer This link opens in a new window
Contains files from the UK Foreign Office

Foreign Relations of the United States
Official diplomatic correspondence

Manuscript collections in Princeton University Library

History of the Cold War: Selected Resources at the Mudd Manuscript Library

Other resources to locate primary sources

Princeton University Library Finding Aids This link opens in a new window
Provides access to finding aids or descriptive inventories for archival records and manuscript collections held within the University Library. Approximately 1,300 finding aids from the Department of Special Collections are now available online and include the Manuscripts Division, Public Policy Papers, and University Archives.
Archive Finder This link opens in a new window
Contains the entire holdings in the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (NUCMC). Current directory of thousands of repositories and over 220,000 collections of primary source materials across the United States, United Kingdom, and Ireland. 1959+
ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Index to finding aids and other descriptive information about the holdings of manuscript and archival collections in libraries and research institutions throughout the world.