Skip to main content

Russia, the Soviet Union, and Eastern Europe

U.S. government records

Despatches from United States consuls in Archangel, 1811-1861 [microform]
RECAP 1096.795.92.4
1 reel
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Belgrade, 1883-1906 [microfilm]
RECAP 1096.991.92
1 reel
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Budapest, 1876-1906 [microform]
RECAP 1096.479.92
4 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Revel, 1859-1870
RECAP 1096.795.92
1 reel
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Riga, 1834-1872, 1890-1906 [microform]
RECAP 1096.795.92.2
1 reel
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

The Russian Civil War and American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, 1918-20 Archives Unbound "This collection reproduces important letters, reports, memorandums, cablegrams, maps, charts, and other kinds of records relating to the activities of the American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia (hereafter, AEF in Siberia), 1918-20.Source Note: Record Group 395: Records of U.S. Army Overseas Operations and Commands, 1898-1942, American Expeditionary Forces in Siberia, Historical Files, M-917."

British records

Oriental question, 1840-1900 [microform]: files from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle.
Microfilm 05589
38 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DA550.L47
"The history of British foreign relations in the 19th century is a record of shifting strategies, policies, and alignments....One issue of great importance for the direction of British policy in these years was the Eastern, or Oriental, Question-the problems brought about by the decline of the Ottoman Empire. With the balance of power in Europe at stake, the Eastern Question was a continuing diplomatic concern, and its significance is clearly seen in the correspondence, memoranda, and policy analyses found in the Royal Archives."

British Foreign Office Russia correspondence [microform]
Microfilm 02266
See below.
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DA47.65.B74
"The Russia Correspondence files of the British Foreign Office are fundamental sources for research on Russian/Soviet history and Anglo-Russian relations. These files contain the dispatches, instructions, reports, memorandums, and other communications that flowed between the Foreign Office in London and the British embassy and consulates in Russia and surrounding countries." Covers 1906-1917 (89 reels); 1922-1929 (96 reels); 1930-1940 (117 reels); 1941-1945 (96 reels); 1946-1948 (61 reels)

World War I and Revolution in Russia, 1914-1918 Archives Unbound
"This collection documents the Russian entrance into World War I and culminates in reporting on the Revolution in Russia in 1917 and 1918. The documents consist primarily of correspondence between the British Foreign Office, various British missions and consulates in the Russian Empire and the Tsarist government and later the Provisional Government." From FO 371. 

British documents on foreign affairs---reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part I, from the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War. Series A, Russia, 1859-1914
Oversize JX632 .B74 1983q
British documents on foreign affairs is a multivolume printed edition of records from the British Foreign Office Confidential Print. These records are diplomatic papers and reports originally published for the British government. See the Main Catalog record for this title for a list of countries and dates of coverage in each volume. See also http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/2upa/Isiaas/
BritishDocumentsForeignAffairs.asp

Alexander III and the Policy of "Russification," 1883-1886 Archives Unbound
This collection, as seen through the eyes of the British diplomatic corps in Russia, provides a unique analysis of this "retro-reform" policy, including the increase of revolutionary agitation, deepening of conservatism and changes from agrarian to industrial society, and spread of pan-Slavism, both in the Russian Empire and Eastern Europe. The British Foreign Office Records of General Correspondence for Russia, in record class F.O. 65, is the basic collection of documents for studying Anglo-Russian relations during this period of fundamental change.

Periodicals & pamphlets

Central Asian serials from late Imperial Russia [microform]
Microfilm S01855
638 reels
Printed guide: none
From the Nationalities Division of the Russian National Library. Materials written in Russian and in various languages of the nationalities of Central Asian republics of the Former Soviet Union (Tajik, Uzbek, Turkmen).

Menshevik collection of newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and books related to the Menshevik movement
RECAP 1627.189.783.87
76 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z7164.S67S72
Microfilm of originals in the Hoover Institution on War, Revolution, and Peace. Text in Russian. "Includes over 200 separate titles and thousands of issues of journals and newspapers....Covers the entire period of 1903-1919."

Russian revolutionary pamphlets, 1860-1923 [microform]
Microfiche 1403
243 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Oversize DK188 .R877q
Material from the British Library of Political and Economic Science.

Anglo-Russian [microform]
Microfilm 11873
2 reels
Printed guide: none
From the larger collection "Business and financial papers, 1780-1939. Series 1, International trade." See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ business_and_financial_papers_series_one_parts_1and2/Contents.aspx

Free Russia [microform]: the organ of the English Society of Friends of Russian Freedom
Microfilm 11874
2 reels
Printed guide: none
From the larger collection "Business and financial papers, 1780-1939. Series 1, International trade." See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/ business_and_financial_papers_series_one_parts_1and2/Contents.aspx

Librarian

Alain St. Pierre
Contact:
1-6F.4
Firestone Library
Princeton, NJ 08544
(609) 258-2964