Skip to main content

South & East Asia: primary sources

Asia: British records

East India Company factory records [microform]: sources from the British Library, London
Microfilm 11896
reels
Printed guide: none
Consists of Factory Records of the East India Company from the Oriental and India Office Collections at the British Library. The records document the business activities of the agents and factors of the Company and also provide insight into local matters. See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/e.aspx

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part I. From the mid-nineteenth century to the First World War. Series E. Asia, 1860-1914
JZ633 B745 1989q
British documents on foreign affairs is a multivolume printed edition of records from the British Foreign Office Confidential Print. These records are diplomatic papers and reports originally published for the British government. See the Main Catalog record for this title for a list of countries and dates of coverage in each volume. See also http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/2upa/Isiaas/
BritishDocumentsForeignAffairs.asp

British documents on foreign affairs: reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part II, From the First to the Second World War. Series E, Asia, 1914-1939
Oversize JZ632 .B755 1991q

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part III, From 1940 through 1945. Series E, Asia
RECAP Oversize KZ632 .B75 1997q

British documents on foreign affairs--reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part IV, From 1946 through 1950. Series E, Asia 1946
Oversize JZ632 .B775 1999q

British documents on foreign affairs: reports and papers from the Foreign Office confidential print. Part V, From 1951 through 1956. Series E, Asia
Oversize JZ632 .B779645 2005q

Asia: Western perspectives

Dutch trade in Asia, c. 1800-1835 [microform]: papers of Hendrik Doeff on Japan and the East Indies
Microfiche 2213
140 fiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Oversize HF3616 .D633 2006q
Doeff was a prominent figure in the Dutch East India Company, and the material in this collection primarily covers political and commercial relations with Japan and Indonesia; however, there is also material collected by Doeff on Japanese customs and religion. See http://www.moranmicropublications.nl/documents/Doeffguide.pdf

Meiji Japan:The Edward Sylvester Morse Collection from the Phillips Library at the Peabody Essex Museum
English-language multidisciplinary archives containing diaries, sketches, travel journals, scrapbooks, publications and correspondence of the polymath and collector Morse, known for his work in natural history (zoology, evolution, astronomy, methodology), ethnography (material culture, music, games, printing, Ainu, religion) and art history (including archaeology, architecture) bridging Japan and America from the 1880s to the 1920s.

Church Missionary Society Archive. Section I: East Asia Missions. Pt. 21: Periodicals for South Central and West China 1899-1970 and Japan 1905-1941 including papers of Fukien Conferences 1906-1937 [microfilm]
Available through interlibrary loan from the Center for Research Libraries.
20 reels. See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/cms_series_one_part_21/Contents.aspx

Rockefeller Foundation archives series 1.1 (projects). Series 600 (Asia) & series 601 (China) [microform]
Microfilm 09658
43 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms R812 .R624
Material from the Rockefeller Archive Center of the Rockefeller University. This collection documents the Rockefeller Foundation's programs in China and elsewhere in Asia. The programs addressed health, agriculture, and education in rural areas. Most of the material dates from the 1930's and 1940's, but some is earlier.

19th Century English-Language Journals from the Far East Archives Unbound

Includes six rare English-language journals, five of which were founded by Western missionaries in the Far East in the 19th century, covering a wide range of topics such as East-West communication, Christianity in China and other parts of Asia, and China’s political, economic, and cultural landscape.

Asia: U.S. government records

 

European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century: German Colonies in Asia and the Pacific: From Colonialism to Japanese Mandates, 1910-1929 Archives Unbound

Based on Record Group 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, Class 800, Germany, 1910-1929. Includes content only for German colonial possessions in Asia and the Pacific, including country codes: 62a, 62c, 62d, 62e, 62f, 62g, 62h, 621, 62k, 62L, 62m.

O.S.S./State Department intelligence and research reports [microform]
RECAP Microfilm 05132
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms D839.3.G84
Pt. 1. Japan and its occupied territories during World War II (16 reels); pt. 2. Postwar Japan, Korea, and Southeast Asia, [1945-1949] (6 reels); pt. 3. China and India (6 reels); pt. 8. Japan, Korea, Southeast Asia, and the Far East generally, 1950-1961 suppl. (7 reels); pt. 9. China and India, 1950-1961 suppl. (5 reels). Comprises reports prepared by the Office of Strategic Services and the Dept. of State to inform U.S. policy. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/2upa/Isiaas/OSS.asp.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. The Far East, 1955-1959 [microform]
Microfilm 10618
30 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS503 .C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html decimal numbers 790, 890, and 990 (internal affairs) and decimal numbers 690 and 611.90 ( foreign affairs) . See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=464

John F. Kennedy national security files, 1961-1963: Asia and the Pacific History Vault
Replaces RECAP Microfilm 08674
This collection comprises documents on U.S. foreign policy and international relations from the John F. Kennedy Library, including correspondence and reports.

Lyndon B. Johnson National Security Files, 1963-1969: Asia and the Pacific History Vault

Replaces Microfilm 08677, Microfilm 10607 [First supplement]
This collection comprises documents on U.S. foreign policy and international relations from the Lyndon B. Johnson Library, including correspondence and reports.

Richard M. Nixon national security files, 1969-1974: Asia: Office Files of Henry Kissinger History Vault

CIA research reports [microform]
Microfilm 01861
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms D839.3.C52
Comprises reports and memos prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency to inform U.S. policy. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=440
This collection covers China, 1946-1976 (6 reels); Japan, Korea, and the security of Asia, 1946-1976 (5 reels); Vietnam and Southeast Asia, 1946-1976 (7 reels); Vietnam and Southeast Asia, Supplement (6 reels)

Asia, special studies, 1980-2002 [microform]
See below
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS35.2.A78X
This collection comprises studies prepared by a variety of government and non-governmental organizations to inform U.S. policy making.
1980-1982 Microfilm 10229 (5 reels)
1981-1985 Microfilm 10230 (12 reels)
1985-1988 Microfilm 10231 (12 reels)
1989-1991 Microfilm 10232 (9 reels)
1992-1994 Microfilm 10456 (12 reels)
1995-1997 Microfilm 10708 (13 reels)
1998-2002 Microfilm 11960 (14 reels)

Japan, Korea, and the security of Asia. Special studies, 1970-1980 [microform]
Microfilm 10546
4 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS518.1 .J362
See above.

Librarian

Alain St. Pierre
Contact:
1-6F.4
Firestone Library
Princeton, NJ 08544
(609) 258-2964