Skip to main content

South & East Asia: primary sources

China: British records

China and the West [microform]: the Maritime Customs Service Archive from the Second Historical Archives of China, Nanjing
Microfilm 11931
151 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms HJ7071.A3 C446 2004
One of the most important archives for the study of China and its relations with the Imperial West in the late Quing and Republican periods (1850-1949), the Maritime Customs Service was an organ of the Chinese state set up by the British to control external and internal trade. By the 1890s the Maritime Customs Service was delivering a quarter of China's state revenue, and the archive kept meticulous records from all its ports and customs posts monitoring trade in arms, opium and all other goods, smuggling, climate and disease statistics, personnel records, intelligence reports, postal and financial administration, refugee movements, political affairs, the Boxer Rebellion and international relations." Note that we have only parts 2 and 4-5 of this series.

Confidential prints. China. F.O. 405
1457.252.41
27 reels
Printed guide: none
Material from the British Foreign Office (FO 405). "This series contains confidential print relating to China and after 1954, Taiwan." Covers 1848-1936.

[Registers (modern series) and indexes of general correspondence: China microform]
1457.252.41.2
8 reels
Printed guide: none
Materials from the British Foreign Office (FO 605). "This series contains microform of registers and indexes of general correspondence. The registers provide a means of reference to papers for the years 1808 to 1890 contained in the volumes of general correspondence before 1906. The registers provide details of the correspondence of ambassadors, consuls and some individuals with the Foreign Office." Covers 1815-1890. Note that this is an index only; the documents may be found in various other FO series.

General correspondence before 1906: China. [Microform]
1457.252.41.3
23 reels
Printed guide:none
Material from the British Foreign Office (FO 17). "This series contains general correspondence relating to China. Also includes despatches from the consul general at Seoul in Korea for the period 1890 to 1905." Covers 1815-1905.

[Registers of general correspondence: China. [Microform]
1457.252.41.4
6 reels
Printed guide: none
Material from the British Foreign Office (FO 566). "This series contains registers of general correspondence."

British military intelligence on China and the Boxer Rising, c. 1880-1930 [microform]: secret gazetteers of the provinces of China, confidential print and intelligence reports
Microfiche 2152
185 microfiches
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Oversize DS764.2 .B75 2004q
Confidential reports and intelligence produced by the British government in India and now part of the India Office records in the British Library. See http://www.idcpublishers.com/ead/374.xml

Foreign Office files, China, 1949-1976 (Public Record Office class FO 371) [microform]
Microfilm 11862
123 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS777.55 .F673 1999

Shanghai Municipal Police file, 1929-1945 [microform]
Firestone Microforms Services: East Asian: Microfilm 00075
67 reels
Printed guide: East Asian Library (Gest): Reference DS796.S257 S53

Policing the Shanghai International Settlement, 1894-1945 Archives Unbound
"These files represent a large portion of the archives of the British-run municipal police force based in Shanghai’s former International Settlement. This self-governing area was administered not by the Chinese but by the international group of merchants and bankers who paid the taxes and controlled the municipal council. The Special Branch of the Shanghai Municipal Police was charged with providing an orderly environment for Shanghai’s foreign trade and commerce. The time period covered by these files extends from 1894 to 1945, and the most extensive coverage is provided by the Special Branch dossier files, which date from 1929-1945."

Foreign Office Files for China, 1919-1980
This series reproduces records from the British Foreign Office, FO 371. The material consists of correspondence and reports covering Great Britain's trade and political relations with China.

The Minutes of the Shanghai Municipal Council [1854 to 1943] Archives Unbound

"This collection replicates all the minutes of meetings held by the Board of Directors of the Shanghai Municipal Council from July 1854 to December 1943. A wide range of topics were discussed at these board meetings, such as sanitation, transportation, telecommunication and postal service, taxation, urban planning, gas supply, street lighting, rickshaw operator management, animal protection, and police system. The minutes taken from July 1854 to December 1906 are handwritten while the rest are typewritten."

 

China: Western perspectives

China: Trade, Politics and Culture, 1793-1980
English-language textual and visual sources relating to China and the West, with key documents relating to the Chinese Maritime Customs service, letters, diaries, color paintings, maps, drawings, photographs, and fully searchable missionary periodicals such as the Chinese Recorder, from mainly British libraries.

China, America and the Pacific
Material from many libraries and archives that explores the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries.

China through western eyes [microform]: manuscript records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, 1792-1942
Microfilm 10582
138 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS755 .C436
This collection "offers the diaries, journals, letters, photographs and scrapbooks of a host of American and British businessmen, tourists, missionaries, journalists and diplomats from the first British mission to China, 1792-94, to the onset of World War II some 150 years later." See http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/
china_through_western_eyes_manuscript/index.aspx
and guides linked from http://www.adam-matthew-publications.co.uk/digital_guides/c.aspx.

German books on China from the late 15th century to 1920 [microform] = Deutschsprachige Schriften zu China vom spaten 15. Jahrhundert bis 1920
Microfiche 2157
685 fiche
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms Z3106 .G47 2004
"The microfiche edition German Books on China from the late 15th Century to 1920 contains independently published German literature on China. This work provides the complete texts of several hundred titles, many of which are very rare, and documents the changing view of China in Germany between the late 15th century and the early 20th century."

Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions, 1833-1911 [microform]
Microfilm 10566
83 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms UNCAT
The Board of Foreign Missions of the American Presbyterian Church was founded to spead the gospel in a number of countries, including China, Japan, India and Thailand. The material documents the activities of missionaries and conditions in the countries in which they worked. Princeton University Library holds only the reels for China. See http://www.gale.com/pdf/scguides/presbyterian/bfmscope.pdf

The Chinese Recorder and the Protestant Missionary Community in China, 1867-1941 Archives Unbound "Knowledge was valuable to the Christian missionaries who went to China in the nineteenth century. They wanted to spread the knowledge of Western Christianity and technology to the Chinese, but also they wished to exchange information among themselves about the work they were doing. The need to keep informed about the activities of their counterparts in other locations in the country was evident very soon after they arrived in China. Although the first Protestant missionary reached China in 1807, missionaries were not legally permitted to live in the interior of the country until after the signing of the 1860 treaties between China and Britain and France."

China: German records

German Foreign Relations and Military Activities in China, 1919-1935 Archives Unbound

From Record Group 242: National Archives Collection of Foreign Records Seized, T-1141: Records of the German Foreign Ministry Pertaining to China, 1919-1935. This collection provides documentation on Germany’s relations with China during the interwar period.

China: U.S. government records

Despatches from United States consuls in Amoy, 1844-1906 [microform]
RECAP 1096.252.92.10
15 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Canton, 1790-1906
RECAP 1096.252.92.6
20 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Chefoo, 1863-1906
RECAP 1096.252.92.13
9 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Chungking, 1896-1906
RECAP 1096.252.92.14
1 reel
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Foochow, 1849-1906.
RECAP 1096.252.92.12
10 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Hankow, 1861-1906
RECAP 1096.252.92.9
8 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Hong Kong, 1844-1906
RECAP 1096.252.92.3
21 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Newchwang, 1865-1906
RECAP 1096.252.92.5
7 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Ningpo, 1853-1896
RECAP 1096.252.92.8
7 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Shanghai, 1847-1906
RECAP 1096.252.92.4
53 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Tientsin, 1868-1906
RECAP 1096.252.92.11
8 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Despatches from United States consuls in Chinkiang, 1865-1902
RECAP 1096.252.92.7
7 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State, Consular Correspondence. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html#59.2.2

Dispatches from United States ministers to China [microform]
RECAP 1096.252.92
8 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html. This collection consists of Vol. 108-116 of a series generally referred to as Diplomatic despatches, China. Records from March 1, 1900-December 31, 1901.

Records of the Department of State relating to the internal affairs of China, 1910-29 [microform]
Microfilm 04820
227 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Political Relations Between China, the U.S. and Other Countries, 1910-1929 Archives Unbound

"This collection includes the microfilmed U.S. State Department records for 1910-1929 relating to the political relations between the United States and China and relations between China and other states. The collection includes instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials; the despatches are often accompanied with enclosures. Also included in these records are the correspondence, reports, and journals of the commissions concerned with extraterritoriality in China, as well as notes between the State Department and foreign diplomatic representatives in the United States, memoranda prepared by officials of the State Department, and correspondence with officials of other government departments and with private firms and individuals." This duplicates: Records of the Department of State relating to political relations between China and other states, 1910-29 [microfilm] Microfilm 05347

Political Relations and Conflict between Republican China and Imperial Japan, 1930-1939: Records of the U.S. State Department Archives Unbound “The records in this collection relate to political relations between China and Japan for the period 1930 -1939. The records are mostly instructions to and despatches from diplomatic and consular officials; the despatches are often accompanied by enclosures. Also included in these records are notes between the Department of State and foreign diplomatic representatives in the United States, memorandums prepared by officials of the Department. There are records on: the Japanese occupation of Manchuria, beginning with the Mukden incident, in 1931; military action at Shanghai in 1932; further Japanese political and economic penetration into China, 1935-1936; and the course of the undeclared war between Japan and China, 1937-1939. Source: RG 59, Records of the U.S. State Department, Central Classified Files, 1930-1939, decimal number 793.94 (Political Relations between China and Japan), National Archives, College Park, MD.”

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. China. Internal affairs, 1940-1944 [microform]
Microfilm 05840
51 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS777.518 .C664
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

U.S. Military Intelligence reports--China, 1911-1941 [microform]
Firestone Microforms Services: East Asian: Microfilm 00048
15 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E183.8.C5L47.
Originals held by the National Archives as part of Record Group 165, Records of the War Department General and Special Staff. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/165.html and http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=499

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. United States-China relations, 1940-1949 [microform]
Microfilm 06932
7 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms E183.8.C5 C66
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. China, 1945-1949. Internal affairs [microform]
Microfilm 09849
75 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS777.535 .C664
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html.

General George C. Marshall’s Mission to China, 1945-1947 Archives Unbound  "The mission of General George C. Marshall to prevent the renewal of the Chinese civil war and, as a consequence, prevent the growth of Soviet influence in both Manchuria and China proper must be viewed in the context of the emerging Cold War as well as the context of American perceptions of China that go back, at least, to the days of John Hay and the Open Door. This collection comprises the full set of records held by the National Archives in the State Department’s Lot File 54 D 270 and is subdivided into six parts: War Department records; Records of the Marshall Mission relating to Political Affairs; Records of the Marshall Mission relating to Military Affairs; Records of the Division of Chinese Affairs; Records of John Carter Vincent; and, Marshall’s Report."

Country Intelligence Reports on China Archives Unbound

"This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on China."

Records of US State Department’s Division of Chinese Affairs [1944-1961] Archives Unbound

"This collection consists of inter and intradepartmental memorandums, reports, position papers, summaries, maps, photographs, and despatches (from US Foreign Service officers and military personnel) relating to the internal political affairs of China and United States foreign policy toward China. Source Note: RG 59, Records of the Department of State, Bureau of Far Eastern Affairs, Office of Chinese Affairs, 1949-1961, Entry 399 and Entry 399A."

 

Records of U.S. foreign assistance agencies, 1948-1961. The Economic Cooperation Administration’s relief mission in post-war China, 1946-1948. Microfilm 12536 http://microformguides.gale.com/download.asp?colldocid=9246000 or printed guide at Firestone Microforms HC427.8 .U6 2012

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. China. Internal affairs, 1950-1954 [microform]
Microfilm 05630
47 reels
Printed guide: none
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html .

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. Formosa, Republic of China, 1950-1954 [microform]
Microfilm 05631
17 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS798.945 .C663
Records from the U.S. Dept. of State, Record Group 59, which comprise correspondence and reports. internal affairs, decimal numbers 794A, 894A and 994A, and foreign affairs, decimal numbers 694A and 611.94A. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=455

Subject Files of US State Department’s Office of the Republic of China Affairs [1951-1978] Archives Unbound

"This collection consists of briefing books, correspondence, memoranda, policy papers, reports, statistics, and other miscellaneous records from the Office of the Country Director for the Republic of China." Source Note: RG 59, Records of the Department of State, Entry 5112: Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs, Office of the Republic of China Affairs, Subject Files of the Office of Republic of China Affairs, 1951-1978. Lot Files: 72D140, 70D437, 70D377, 70D499, 70D502, 71D186, 71D187, 71D516, 72D145, 73D22, 73D26, 78D138, 74D25, 74D427, 73D38, 74D39, 75D76, 75D61, 76D151,76D441, 76D444, 77D26.

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. China, People’s Republic of China, 1955-1959. Internal affairs. [microform]
Microfilm 09635
48 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS777.75 .C665
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html . Pt. 1. Political, governmental, and national defense affairs, decimal number 793 (31 reels) and pt. 2. Economic, industrial, social communications, transportation, and science, decimal numbers 893 and 993 (17 reels). See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=452

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. China, People’s Republic of China. Foreign affairs, 1955-1959. [microform]
Microfilm 09636
10 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS777.8 .C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html decimal numbers 693 and 693B, and 611.93, 611.93B, and 611.93C. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=450

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. China 1960-January 1963. Foreign affairs [microform]
Microfilm 11682
5 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS777.55 .C663
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html decimal numbers 693 and 693A, 693B, 693C, 611.93, 611.93A, 611.93B, and 611.93C. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=450

Confidential U.S. State Department central files. China, 1960-January 1963. Internal affairs [microform]
Microfilm 10726
27 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS777.55 .C665
Originals held by National Archives as part of Record Group 59, General Records of the Dept. of State. See http://www.archives.gov/research/guide-fed-records/groups/059.html. See http://www.lexisnexis.com/academic/upa_cis/group.asp?g=450

China, special studies, 1970-1980 [microform]
Microfilm 05860
8 reels
Printed guide: Firestone Microforms DS777.548 .C486
This collection comprises studies prepared by a variety of government and non-governmental organizations to inform U.S. policy making.

Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations
"Declassified by the State Department, the Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955, provide valuable insight into numerous domestic issues in Communist and Nationalist China, U.S. containment policy as it was extended to Asia, and Sino-American relations during the post-war period. This product comprises all 41 reels of the former Scholarly Resources microfilm product entitled Records of the Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955." Part of the Archives Unbound series.

Records of the National Council for United States-China Trade 1973-1983 Archives Unbound
"This collection documents the formation of the National Council for United States-China Trade and its role in the development of U.S.-China trade, and the Council’s library holdings relating to China’s trade and economy. The Council is an association of U.S. business firms interested in trade with the People’s Republic of China. It was formed in 1973 with the encouragement of the U.S. Government."

Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
"This digital collection reviews U.S.-China relations in the post-Cold War Era, and analyzes the significance of the 1989 Tiananmen Square demonstrations, China’s human rights issues, and resumption of World Bank loans to China in July 1990." Material from the George H.W. Bush Presidential Library. Part of the Archives Unbound series.

Records of the U.S. Information Service in China: Chinese Press Reviews and Summaries, 1944-1950 Archives Unbound "This collection of essential U.S. Information Service collections on the Civil War period provides a unique opportunity to understand immediate post-World War II Chinese history, comparative revolution, and early Cold War history. This combination of smaller press collections weave together the strands of military, social, political, and free world history and includes an analysis of how the Chinese Communist Party achieved victory in the Chinese civil war of 1946-1950."

Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941 Archives Unbound "The MID correspondence and reports from which the six files reproduced in this publication were extracted is a part of Records of the War Department General and Special Staffs, Record Group (RG) 165. Political, Economic, and Military Conditions in China: Reports and Correspondence of the U.S. Military Intelligence Division, 1918-1941. This collection reproduces the six principal MID files relating exclusively to China for the period 1918 to 1941 (general conditions, political conditions, economic conditions, army, navy, and aeronautics). Also includes documents created by other U.S. Government agencies and foreign governments from the records of the Military Intelligence Division."

Richard M. Nixon national security files, 1969-1974: Nixon's 1972 Trip to China History Vault