Skip to main content

History of science, technology & medicine

Starting points

Reader’s guide to the history of science
London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2000
History Reference (SH). Firestone Q125 .R335 2000

Encyclopaedia of the history of science, technology, and medicine in non-western cultures
Berlin; New York: Springer, c2008.
History Reference (SH). Firestone Q124.8 .E53 2008

Isis cumulative bibliography (1913-1995)
Firestone Library (F): Z7405.H6 xI199 (covers 1913-65); Z7405.H6 xI2 (1966-75); Z7405.H6 I22 (1976-85); Z7405.H6 I2 Suppl.3 (1986-95)

Cambridge history of science

Companion to the history of modern science. Edited by R.C. Olby ... [et al.]. London; New York: Routledge, 1990.
History Reference (SH). Firestone Q125 .C565 1990

A companion to the philosophy of science [electronic resource]. Edited by W.H. Newton-Smith.Malden, Mass.: Blackwell Pub., 2001.

A companion to American technology [electronic resource]. Edited by Carroll Pursell. Malden, MA : Blackwell Pub., 2005.

The Oxford companion to the history of modern science. Editor in chief, John L. Heilbron ; editors, James Bartholomew ... [et al.]. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2003.

Best bibliographic databases

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology and allied fields. Coverage includes all languages in which these materials are published.

Medline (PubMed)  (1947+)
Good coverage of history of medicine.

Biography

History of science at Princeton (and beyond)

Program in the History of Science

Consortium for the History of Science, Technology and Medicine (formerly Philadelphia Area Center for History of Science, this is a consortium of libraries and archives to which Princeton belongs)

History of Science Society

Librarian

Alain St. Pierre
Contact:
1-6F.4
Firestone Library
Princeton, NJ 08544
(609) 258-2964