History of Science

Databases
Guides

Showing 2 Guides

Jul 16, 2024 29

HIS 400 - S02 White Hunters, Black Poachers: Africa and the Science of Conservation [Fall 2020]

Jan 25, 2023 395

History of science, technology & medicine

Showing 16 Databases

Starting Points

Starting Point

America: History and Life with Full Text

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. 1954+

more...

Starting Point

Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography

Thousands of biographies of deceased mathematicians and natural scientists from all regions and historical periods.

Starting Point

Historical Abstracts with Full Text

Indexes books and journal articles on the history of the world (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Index 1954+

Starting Point

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

Indexes journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations on the history of science and technology and allied fields. Coverage includes all languages in which these materials are published.

Additional Databases

American Men & Women of Science: A Biographical Directory of Today's Leaders in Physical, Biological, and Related Sciences

Biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birthdate; birthplace; field of specialty; education; honorary degrees; current position; professional and career information; awards; memberships; research information; and addresses for each entrant where available.

Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate

General science and technology articles from English-language periodicals published in the United States and elsewhere; non-English language articles are included if English abstracts are provided. 1913+

Arcadian Library Online

Provides access to online reproductions of rare books and manuscripts held at the Arcadian Library. These are important primary sources for the history, transmission, and reception of early science and medicine in the Middle East and Europe. Texts cover such topics as medicine, natural history, travel, astronomy, and philosophy.

Disability in the Modern World

Brings together archives, video, and other primary sources for the study of history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

Medline (PubMed)

Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes citations for biomedical articles. 1879+

Nineteenth Century Masterfile

Combines various general, scientific, religious, psychological, and legal indexes covering the nineteenth century.

Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900

Digital collection documenting the development of popular medicine in 19th century America. Includes books, pamphlets, posters, trade cards and other ephemera, including advertising, from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

Royal Society of Chemistry Historical Collection

Material produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry, Chemical Society and the Royal Institute of Chemistry, including minutes, magazines, annual reports, monographs and lists of Fellows. Also includes digital editions of books from the historical collections of the RSC.

Trade Literature and the Merchandizing of Industry (Smithsonian Collections Online)

Collection covers 1820-1926 and includes National Museum of American History Library Trade Literature Collection.

Trew Letter Collection

Digital edition of Christoph Jakob Trew's collection of scientific correspondence, an important resource for the history of science and medicine in 17th and 18th century Europe.

Web of Science (ISI)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research. Journal coverage in the social sciences, arts, and humanities is not comprehensive. Includes conference proceedings in the sciences and social sciences.

World's Fairs and Expositions: Visions of Tomorrow (Smithsonian Collections Online)

Materials published between 1834-1940. Includes Books of the Fairs: Smithsonian Libraries holdings; world's fairs titles in the Dibner Library of the History of Science and Technology and in the Cooper Hewitt Smithsonian Design Library.

Search

Search the full text of this site. Results will link to pages containing your terms; results from subject page searches are automatically filtered by that subject.