Finding data
- Data & Statistical Services
Data and Statistical Services (DSS) is a part of the Social Science Reference Center in Firestone Library at Princeton University. DSS offers resources and assistance in finding, using, and analyzing social science data - PUL-Articles and Databases
Find data by subject search. A&D provides an excellent gateway to macro level data (although some micro level sources are also found here)
Data sources
- ICPSR
Established in 1962, ICPSR is the world's largest archive of digital social science data. We acquire, preserve, and distribute original research data and provide training in its analysis. We also offer access to publications based on our data holdings. - Roper Center
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is one of the world's leading archives of social science data, specializing in data from surveys of public opinion. The data held by the Roper Center range from the 1930s, when survey research was in its infanc - WRDS
WRDS provides instant access to important databases in the fields of finance, accounting, banking, economics, management, marketing and public policy. - IPUMS
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series is a project dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world and CPS. Its goals are to:
1) Collect and preserve data and documentation
2) Harmonize data and 3) Disseminate free data. - World Development Indicators
From the World Bank, macro data for more 150 countries - Human Development Indicators
Each year the Human Development Report (HDR) presents a wealth of statistical information on different aspects of human development. All these data are available for download here in several different ways. - Sociometrics
Sociometrics Social Science Electronic Data Library (SSEDL) consists of eight topically focused data archives, an online data analysis system, and teaching modules. - Vanderbilt Television News Archive
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is the world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. We have been recording, preserving and providing access to television news broadcasts of the national networks since August 5, 1968. - University of Texas Inequality Project
UTIP is a small research group concerned with measuring and explaining movements of inequality in wages and earnings and patterns of industrial change around the world. - World Values Survey
The WVS is a worldwide network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life. The WVS has carried out representative national surveys in 97 societies containing almost 90 percent of the world’s population. - Corruption Perception Index The Internet Center for Corruption Research provides you with the TI-Corruption Perceptions Index, a comparative assessment of countries' integrity performance, alongside with related academic research on corruption.
Analyzing data
- DSS Online Training/Getting Started section This site is primarily a self-guided tour through data analysis and some of the most used statistical and data management software on campus.
Getting Started series
- Getting Started in Data Analysis using Stata Topics include reading data in Stata, data management, frequencies, crosstabs, merging, graphs, regression and more!
- Fixed and random effects (panel data analysis) A basic introduction on fixed and random effects models to analyze panel data.
- Factor Analysis Basic introduction to factor analysis
- Analyzing poll data Procedures and tips on how to analyze public opinion data
- Finding data (w/comments on crafting research questions, GSS) Generic guide to find what you need for your research
- Linear regression Basic introduction to linear regression analysis (using Stata)
- Logit & Ordered logit regression Introduction to logit and ordered logit regression
DSS online training series
- Stata online tutorial What to do first, exploring data, do-file, date and time variables, references
- Data 101 This section provides you with some basic definitions for data and its different types.
- Descriptive statistics using Excel/Stata What are descriptive statistics? How to estimate them using Excel or Stata?
- Links and tips for SPSS
- Regression and more (links) A series of links with annotated output for several models, testing and some econometric procedures.
Data Analysis 101 workshops
- Finding Data (w/comments on crafting research questions, 101) Introduction to some general data sources and tips on how to start planning your research.
- Data Preparation and Descriptive Statistics Introduction on how to set your data for analysis and how to get descriptive statistics using Excel and Stata.
- Linear Regresion Basics on how to run, define and interpret linear regression and time series output.
- Panel Data Introduction to panel data analysis
- Multilevel Analysis Introduction to multilevel analysis
- Time Series (work in progress) Introduction to time series analysis
Topics in Statistics/Econometrics
- StatNotes: Topics in Multivariate Analysis Written by G. David Garson, from North Carolina State University, Public Administration Program
- The Statistics Homepage "This Electronic Statistics Textbook offers training in the understanding and application of statistics. The material was developed at the StatSoft R&D department based on many years of teaching undergraduate and graduate statistics courses and covers a
- Introductory Statistics: Concepts, Models, and Applications Written by David W. Stockburger
- Statistical Data Analysis Written by B.R. Asrabadi
- Model mis-specification and non-spherical disturbances "1) review iid assumption. 2) consequences of violation of iid. 3) types of violation of iid: e.g., (a) heteroskedasticity (b) serially correlated disturbances. 4) diagnosing non-iid disturbances (graphs and formal tests). 5) variance stabilizing transfor
- Interpreting interaction terms "The presence of a significant interaction indicates that the effect of one predictor variable on the response variable is different at different values of the other predictor variable."
- Bootstrap Methods and Permutation Tests "Resampling methods allow us to quantify uncertainty by calculating standard errors and confidence intervals and performing significance tests. They require fewer assumptions than traditional methods and generally give more accurate answers (sometimes very much more accurate)."
- The Concept of Confidence Interval "An (1-alpha) confidence interval for the mean is an interval (a, b) such that the mean of the population, µ, is inside it (i.e. a < µ < b) with (1-alpha) "confidence." The endpoints of the interval, a and b, take values that depend on the random sample selected the confidence interval also depends on the random sample selected."
- Intraclass correlation "An intraclass correlation tells you about the correlation of the observations (cases) within a cluster."
- Visual Statistics with Multimedia On statistics
Additional info...
- WASS - Use this to make sure DSS lab is staffed, sign up preferred DSS staffing hours, walk-in service only from 2 to 5 pm from Nov 2 to Dec 18, sign-up preferred but service is on a first come, first serve basis.
- DSS lab location (map) The DSS lab is located in Firestone A16-H3
- General info on the DSS lab
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait