Skip to main content

Anthropology: Articles

Writing articles for peer-reviewed publications

"In Reviews of Peer-Reviewed Journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences we give you the scuttlebutt on academic journals-aiding you in selecting the right journal for publication-in reviews that are sometimes snarky, sometimes lengthy, always helpful. Written by Princeton University graduate students and Associate Professor Wendy Laura Belcher."

 

Search Articles+ (peer-reviewed)

Search Articles+ for peer-reviewed articles

Article Express

ArticleExpress is the Library’s electronic document delivery service available to current members of the Princeton University community. Journal articles, book chapters or selections, conference proceedings papers, and newspaper articles are available through ArticleExpress. The service offers electronic delivery of these materials in the shortest possible time.

 

Sage Research Methods Online

Google Scholar

Quick tips for using databases

The databases on this page provide references to many scholarly journal articles and papers.

Start off with keyword searches expressing your topic, review those items that look relevant, then exploit the details within those entries to help lead you to other articles. Pay attention to the subject headings (typically called "descriptors") to see how the database describes your topic and use them to find related articles.

Databases (PU access only)

Anthropology Plus  (1800+)

Worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK.

 

AnthroSource  

Full text access to peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins through collaboration between the American Anthropological Association and the University of California Press.

 

Annual Review of Anthropology  (1972+)

Note: Works better in Mozilla Firefox.

Comprehensive review of the literature in anthropology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of anthropology.

 

Abstracts in Anthropology   

Comprehensive coverage of significant, current scholarship in cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology, & linguistics.

 

Bibliography of Native North Americans  (16th Century+)

Citations to books, journal articles, essays, conference papers, and government documents.

 

Ebsco Academic Search  (1975+)

Multi-disciplinary database providing abstract & indexing with select full text for many core scholarly journals as well as popular press periodicals

 

eHRAF Collection of Ethnography  

Full-text ethnography materials of the world's cultures. At present, eHRAF indexes only 60 cultures, so for comprehensive treatment of world cultures use the HRAF microfiche collection in Microform Services (Microfiche 285). The collection of ethnography was produced on microfiche from 1950 to 1993. Two guides to the microfiche, Outline of World Cultures and Outline of Cultural Materials are available in Microforms Services (FilmB) GN345.3 .M87 1983.

 

eHRAF Collection of Archaeology  (1930s+)

Full-text database of cross-cultural materials on world-wide archaeological traditions.

 

JSTOR    

Full text archive of core journals in select disciplines. Journal issues from the most recent 3-5 years are usually NOT available electronically through JSTOR. 

 

Linguistics Abstracts Online  (1985+)  

More than 15,000 abstracts from nearly 300 linguistics journals published since 1985.

 

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  (1973+)  

Indexes journals covering all aspects of the study of languages, including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.

 

ProQuest Central  

 

PubMed  (1951+) (For physical and biological anthropology)

Service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's

 

Web of Science (ISI)  (Sciences (1900+), Social Sciences (1898+), and Arts and Humanities (1975+).)

Multidisciplinary index to journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Offers the option to find cited references, which are the authors lists of articles used in their research.

 

Human Relations Area Files on Microfiche

The entire HRAF Collection of Ethnography—an on-going project compiled over more than half a century—is an unparalleled source of information on world cultures. It currently contains over 900,000 original pages of robustly indexed information on 371 cultural, ethnic, religious, and national groups. With more than 3 million pages overall, representing all major regions of the world, this vast collection gathers together primary source materials on selected cultures or societies from published books, articles, unpublished manuscripts, and dissertations, as well as numerous translations into English. 

HRAF in microfiche provides more than three times the coverage provided by eHRAF. 

The microfiche collection is housed in Microform Services on C-floor in Firestone Library.  The call number to the collection is Microfiche 285.