Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Important Library Information for First-Year Students
Welcome to Princeton!
We are so excited that we can be here with you on campus. We have a page of information specifically for undergraduates that answers many of the questions you might have, particularly about how the library can help you when you cannot be on campus.
Please feel free to email me with any questions about the Library, not just for your writing sem.
Finding Books and Articles
The main search box on the library homepage will allow you to search for books or articles (plus more). It's a great place to start when you have a few keywords in mind and are just getting started with your research.
Search the catalog for books, manuscripts, journal titles, musical scores, etc.
Search Articles+ by keyword when you are looking for articles on a particular topic, or by article title when you are doing known-item searching.
Finding News & Primary Sources
For a comprehensive listing of contemporary and historical news sources, please see the Newspapers Research Guide.
You also have access to the New York Times for free through the Library's academic license program.
Gale Primary Resources This link opens in a new window
Cross-searching tool for Gale primary source collections (including Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Indigenous Peoples: North America, and Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture). Also allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.
Social Issues Primary Source Collections This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents focusing on leading social issues for the environment; gender issues and sexuality; human and civil rights; and medicine, health, and bioethics.
Gale News Vault This link opens in a new window
Cross searchable database of the 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers, 19th Century British Library Newspapers, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, 19th Century UK Periodicals, British Library Newspapers 1732-1950, Daily Mail Historical Archive, Economist Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, Illustrated London News Historical Archive, Independent Digital Archive, Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, Listener Historical Archive, Picture Post Historical Archive, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive, and the Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
Women and Social Movements International This link opens in a new window
Writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made. 1840+
Women and Social Movements in the United States This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text primary and secondary sources.
Nineteenth Century U. S. Newspaper Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of U.S. newspapers from the 19th century.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Also, see the alternative interface Gale Primary Sources
that allows users to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools.
Constructing Your Bibliography
Bibliographic management tools enable you to store library sources in your own personal database and then incorporate the citations seamlessly into your research paper in whatever format your writing seminar requires. Within these tools you can take also notes on the books and articles you find and search those notes by keyword.
Go to the bibliographic management LibGuide to learn more.