Eileen Southern’sThe Music of Black Americans: A History (1971) represents a monumental achievement as the first book in American musicology focused solely on Black composers and performers. Due to the paucity of bibliography on the subject, Southern conducted most of her research from primary sources. Completed in late 2022 at Harvard University’s music library, this site offers the first organized, openly accessible inventory of the musical examples from the book’s first edition and provides full-text open access to the complete scores of almost all of these examples. Note: You will encounter offensive language and disturbing imagery on this website.
Combines reference sources, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies chronicling the history and culture of the African American experience through music. Constantly expanding to include blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Database of over 3,500 digitized visual images and 50 hours of sound files from 45 African countries, searchable by keyword, subject, or country. Also browsable by collections of images (artisans, buildings and structures, cities and towns, education, landscape, religion, and women) or sounds (greetings, rites and ceremonies, songs and singing, and drums).
"The purpose of the Jewish Music WebCenter is to provide an online forum for academic, organizational, and individual activities in Jewish music. Information is provided to encourage and support scholarship, enjoyment, creation, and general knowledge of Jewish music."
"An exploration of the rich variety of musical expression born of, inspired by, associated with, or reflecting the full spectrum of Jewish life in the United States—the collective American Jewish experience." Content divides into thematic volumes and the main topics of music (streaming audio), people, photos, videos, voices, and articles.
Broad interdisciplinary resource covering East, Southeast, and South Asia. Particularly useful for finding Asian music research published since 1971 in non-music journals, edited volumes, conference proceedings, etc.
Indexes articles and other documents appearing in more than 500 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
The Latin GRAMMY Awards "recognize excellence and create a greater public awareness of the cultural diversity of Latin recording artists and creators, both domestically and internationally." The site includes news, Hall of Fame members, articles, and more.
Broad interdisciplinary indexing of literature in European languages on Islam, the Middle East, and Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, includes many articles on music in the Muslim world in over 2,000 journals, conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works, and book reviews.