This LibGuide has been created through conversations that have included staff from the Library, Center for Digital Humanities, Office of Instructional Technology, McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning, the Viz ELab and DDSS. Please send suggestions to refdesk@princeton.edu
Web Development Services (WDS)
OIT’s Web Development Services provides comprehensive website design, development, project management, information architecture, and technical support for the development of websites for academic and administrative departments, events, organizations, labs, and projects via a secure and robust website platform. Individual faculty portfolio sites are also supported via the Princeton Site Builder platform and student organizations may host websites on WDS' Blogs platform. OIT offers this article outlining website options.
OIT’s CPanel Hosting service provides university hosting for websites. This powerful system supports WordPress, Scalar, Omeka, Grav and several other applications. CPanel's documentation provides details.
The McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning
The McGraw Center for Teaching and Learning works with faculty to develop custom teaching projects, often taking the form of websites. These projects must be tied to some existing Princeton course. The McGraw Center offers a yearly call for digital pedagogy projects, but this process is not necessary to work with staff from the Center.
VizE Lab in the Anthropology Department
Provides assistance on the creation of Drupal and Wordpress websites for ethnographic projects in anthropology and independent student research that involves either data visualizations or documentary films.
Princeton University Art Museum (PUAM)
Assists in the creation of websites that feature or make use of the digital collections of the Princeton University Art Museum. PUAM also works with instructors to create course-specific image collections and to make those collections available online to course participants.
Princeton University Library (PUL)
Provides a wide range of services, including hosting digital and physical exhibits, supporting use and re-use of our collections, training users on statistics and visualization tools, and hosting and preserving datasets and digital objects. Core services include Digital PUL and the Ask Us service for general assistance. Contact Jen Grayburn and Anu Vedantham with website-related questions.
Princeton Research Data Service (PRDS)
Provides guidance on services and infrastructure to store, manage, retain, and curate digital research data. A joint initiative of the Office of the Dean for Research, PUL and OIT.
Please note campus guidelines for websites as well as general guides and tools.
Digital Accessibility Program (OIT)
The Office of Information Technology's Digital Accessibility Program provides services to help ensure the University's digital resources and information are accessible to people with disabilities.
The UXO offers a variety of design services to the campus community, including design reviews, user research guidance and activities for learning more about your end user community, and usability testing of your prototypes, websites, and other project deliverables. The office is available for consultations at any point along your project journey, and we encourage early engagements to help you identify user needs that can inform your design. We have a Usability LAB, located in Green Hall, which is available for UX design activities and collaborations upon request or as needed for your project. Please contact uxlab@princeton.edu with any questions you may have or to initiate a design collaboration.
