Catalogue of Syriac manuscripts in the British museum acquired since the year 1838This volume, which is the third and last Part of the new Catalogue of the
Syriac Manuscripts in the British Museum, comprises the Classes of History, lives
of Saints and Martyrdoms, and Scientific Literature; to which are added two
Appendices, namely, Notes and Additions to the Catalogue of Eosen and Forshall,
and a Description of the Mandaitic Manuscripts in the Taylor Collection. Several
Indices conclude the work. A general Preface is prefixed, giving a history of the
Nitrian Collection and an estimate of its literary value.
Catalogue of Syriac Manuscripts in the Library of the Greek Patriarchate of JerusalemThere are 48 Syriac manuscripts in this body of material. The manuscripts are of a distinctive theological character and period. The manuscripts range in age from 1251 AD to 1880 AD, although most of the manuscripts are 15th and 16th centuries. The oldest manuscript is a document known as the liturgy for the Feast of Rogations of the Ninivites (MS. 37). The next oldest is a New Testament Text with the expected omission of the books of Revelation and of the four Catholic Epistles dated 1261 AD.
"Gutenberg Bible" of Modern SyriacThis small booklet, translated "Lessons from the Words of God," was the first ever printed in modern Syriac or Assyrian. It was printed at the press of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions at Urmia, Persia, in 1841, under the direction of Edward Breath, a missionary and printer. Justin Perkins was, at the time, the head of this early Protestant mission to the Nestorians.
Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library - Yale Universityone of the world's largest libraries devoted entirely to rare books and manuscripts and is Yale's principal repository for literary archives, early manuscripts, and rare books. The Beinecke Library's robust collections are used to create new scholarship by researchers from around the world.
Bodleian LibraryThere is a vast literature in Syriac, enlarged by many translations from Greek. As early as 1864, when the main catalogue for Syriac manuscripts was printed, the Bodleian possessed 205 codices. As many of these contain several items the number of works is much larger; there have also been later additions. Most of the manuscripts arrived in the Library as donations, often from the same sources, such as Laud and Huntingdon, as the Hebrew manuscripts. Syriac has also given rise to two other bodies of literature. Karshuni is the Arabic language written in Syriac script. Mandaean is a development of Syriac used chiefly for magical texts of which, in the Drower Collection, the Bodleian Library is the world’s foremost repository.
British LibraryThe British Library's Syriac language manuscript collection is one of the largest and most diverse in the world, containing 1,075 manuscripts and 12,000 printed books. The manuscripts range in date from 450 to 2000 A.D.
e-Ktobe : Manuscrits SyriacE-ktobe is a database on Syriac manuscripts which aims to collect information on texts, physical elements, colophons and notes.
Hebraic Collections - Library of CongressThe Hebraic Section of the Library of Congress, now one of the world's leading centers for Hebrew and Yiddish studies, was established in 1914 as part of the Division of Semitica and Oriental Literature. Its beginnings may be traced to Jacob H. Schiff's gifts in 1912 and 1914 of funds to purchase nearly 10,000 books and pamphlets from the private collection of Ephraim Deinard, a well-known bibliographer and bookseller.
Hill Museum and Manuscript Library (HMML)For almost 50 years, teams from the Hill Museum & Manuscript Library have been photographing manuscript collections across Europe, Africa, the Middle East, and south India, making HMML the world’s leader in the photographic preservation of manuscripts.
Neal A. Maxwell Institute for Religious ScholarshipSince 1996 the Center for the Preservation of Ancient Religious Texts has undertaken digital humanities projects relating to Syriac studies, manuscript studies and the Dead Sea Scrolls. These projects provide access to primary resources for the study of ancient religious texts. Follow the links below for more information about the Center’s current projects.
Syriac LibraryThis page contains a collection of public domain texts in Syriac. All texts are in Unicode and use the Beth Mardutho Meltho fonts.
University of Manchester Library70 items (some composite), ranging from the 6th century to the 20th, were acquired from Lord Crawford, James Rendel Harris and Alphonse Mingana.
They are mainly theological and liturgical codices, and include a 6th-century Gospel Book (Syriac MS 1), parts of the Old and New Testaments, lectionaries, commentaries, psalters, collections of hymns, and prayers, amulets or charms, and liturgical books. Secular texts include dictionaries, grammatical treatises, and works on astrology and divination. 48 items are West Syrian, the remainder East Syrian and Melkite.
Virtual Library of the Mediterranean SeaA shared library in many languages, many scripts, with written, image and audio resources. It encompasses our common heritage of written and graphical documents, currently preserved in Mediterranean countries
Virtual Manuscript Room, University of BirminghamThis site is the first phase of The Virtual Manuscript Room (VMR) project. In this phase, we present full digitized manuscripts from The Mingana Collection of Middle Eastern Manuscripts held at Special Collections in the University of Birmingham. This collection, previously unavailable on the web, has been designated as of national and international importance. As well as high-resolution images of each page, the VMR provides descriptions from the printed catalogue and from Special Collections' own records.
Canadian Centre for Epigraphic DocumentsThe Canadian Centre for Epigraphic Documents (CCED) was founded in order to archive, catalogue, and digitize epigraphic materials. The digitized images are to be placed online, allowing scholars easy access to these documents.