American Politics

Provides access to data on immigration court caseloads, backlogs, processing times, and outcomes; new deportation proceedings and outcomes; asylum filings, backlogs, and outcomes; ICE detentions, removals, and facilities; immigration judges; and juvenile cases. Information on criminal enforcement of immigration law including statutes used is also available. Based upon analyses by the Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse at Syracuse University of court and agency records obtained via the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).

Directory of agency specific FOIA sites as well as major collections of FOIA documents provided by non-governmental organizations. Courtesy of the UCSD Library.

Provides salary, title, agency, occupation, and demographic details about millions of U.S. government employees, as well as their migrations into, out of, and through the federal bureaucracy. Nearly 30 gigabytes in total. Obtained by BuzzFeed via a FOIA request to the Office of Personnel Management. Data are fixed-width and pipe-delimited text files. Fields include Name, agency, subagency, location, occupation, occupational category, age, education level, adjusted basic pay, pay plan and pay grade, type of appointment (e.g., “career,” “nonpermanent,” etc.), work schedule (e.g., full time, part-time seasonal, etc.), supervisory status.

Data received from a FOIA request for federal employee salary data from Fiscal Year 2004 to Fiscal Year 2018 Enterprise Human Resource Integration-Statistical Data Mart and Central Personnel Data File. The data elements include employee name, agency, agency sub-element, occupation, pay plan, grade, basic pay, adjusted basic pay, award, city, state, country, and duty station. Data is limited to Executive Branch Federal civilian employees and excludes Intelligence Agencies and Foreign Service Personnel at the State Department (included until March 2006). A separate file (heavily redacted) includes Department of Defense data for the same time period.

Data on vacant executive positions that require presidential appointment with Senate confirmation.
--vacancy indicators: control number, date vacancy began, date reported to GAO, agency, sub-agency, position title
--nominee: control number, name, nomination date, nomination status
--acting officials: control number, name, start & end dates

Directory information on ~32,000 federal executives and positions in the Executive branch (yearly snapshots from June; 1 year lag). Includes name, agency and sub-agency, position title, narrative bio, and demographics as well as occupation history when available. Sourced from KnowWho. Each year is a zipped .csv file with multiple tables linked by unique person IDs.

Bulk data downloads of various Government Publishing Office collections:

• Congressional bills and bill summaries (113th Congress/2013-present)
• Code of Federal Regulations (1996-present)
• Federal Register (2000-present)
• Public Papers of the Presidents (2009-2011)
• Supreme Court Decisions (1937-1975)

2009+

2007+

2014+.

• 2012-2015
• 1997-2011 (click the link for prior for pre-2011)

2009+

2009+

1996+

2011+

1997+

2007+

2009+

2009+

1993+

1998+ (selected back to 1970)

2009+

2006-present. There's a more complete archive for 1997-2011.