Research Guides: Music Industry and Business: A Guide to Research and Resources: Music Resources

Music Periodical Databases

Use these resources primarily to find print and online articles, reports, notices, reviews, and other writings on the music industry published in music journals, trade publications, and magazines.

Music Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes (without abstracts but with links to online full-text) over 875 international music periodicals covering every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. Covers articles on all styles and genres of music, plus book and recording reviews, first performances, obituaries, and news about music, musicians, and the music industry. 1973 to current.
Print volumes covering 1949-1972 are available in Mendel Music Library: Reference (SV) ML 118 M84.
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes (with abstracts and links to online full-text) scholarly and popular music journals and magazines across a broad range of topics, including the music industry.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Indexes (with abstracts and links to online full-text) primarily academic periodicals, essay collections, and books covering all aspects of music. Includes scholarly articles and research on the music industry and popular music. Coverage is international: use the language filter to focus on materials in English. 1967-current.

Advertising & Publicity

The Oxford Handbook of Music and Advertising by James Deaville, et al. (editors)
Call Number: ML3790 .O98 2021 (print version)
Publication Date: 2021; February 2021 (e-version)
Assembles an array of forty-two essays on the production, texts, and reception of advertising through music.

Music Trade Journals

Listed here are some key music trade and related journals. Follow the title links to full descriptions, which include links to issues available online (fully reproduced in pdf or only available in html full-text). Princeton's holdings vary: some issues may be print only; or the library may have neither print or online for others.

Billboard
Color pdfs of complete issues 1963 to current available via ProQuest Central and the Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive from the above link.
Music Week
The British perspective, published in London since 1983. The leading trade media brand for the UK music industry.
MEIEA
Journal of the Music & Entertainment Industry Educators Association

Popular Music Resources

Bloomsbury Music and Sound (formerly Bloomsbury Popular Music) This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly coverage of modern popular music worldwide, from the early 20th century to the present day, by cross-searching the 14-volume Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World; all 120+ volumes of the 33 1/3 book series (providing in-depth analysis of influential albums); an expanding range of scholarly books from Bloomsbury Popular Music Studies; and titles in the new 33 1/3 Global book series. This resource explores the historical origins and cultural impact of popular music, influential artists and albums, local music scenes and subcultures, musical form, instruments, the workings of the music industry, and the social, political, and economic context of different musical genres.

Guides to the Music Business & Industry

All You Need to Know about the Music Business by Donald S. Passman
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML3790 .P35 2019
Publication Date: 2019 (10th edition)
A definitive, comprehensive guide to the music business offering timely, authoritative information for musicians, songwriters, lawyers, agents, promoters, publishers, executives, and managers. Dubbed "the industry bible" by the Los Angeles Times.
Rockonomics by Alan B. Krueger
Call Number: Print version available in Mendel Music Library under call no. ML3790 .K77 2019.
Publication Date: 2019
The late Princeton faculty member and noted economist uses key principles and shaping forces of economics to address the music industry by coupling interviews with superstars, music executives, managers, and promoters with the latest data on revenues, royalties, streaming tour dates, and merchandise sales.
The Economics of Music by Peter Tschmuck
Call Number: ML3790 .T74 2021
ISBN: 9781788214261
Publication Date: August 2021
The second edition explores the impact of the pandemic at every level of the sector, examines new trends in the music industry, and details the economics of publishing, copyright, recording, and more.
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by David Baskerville, et al.
Call Number: Reference (SV) ML3795 .B33 2023
Publication Date: 2023
The fully updated Thirteenth Edition includes a comprehensive discussion of the streaming revolution, changes in music licensing, and the impact of COVID-19 on the concert industry.
The Music Industry: Music in the Cloud by Patrik Wikström
Call Number: ML3790 .W52 2020 (3rd edition)
Publication Date: 2019
Provides an international overview of the music industry and its future prospects in the world of global entertainment. Illuminates the workings of the industry, capturing the dynamics at work in the production of musical culture between the transnational media conglomerates, the independent music companies, and the public.