American Journalism Collections at the Mudd Manuscript Library

Consists of large color boards that were originally displayed in shop windows. Most of the cartoons comment on foreign policy issues during World War I.

Blair Clark was a journalist and political activist who held many positions in both spheres. His papers contain items related to his employment with CBS News, his role in the establishment of the Edward R. Murrow Chair at Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government, and personal correspondence.

The Louis Fischer Papers include correspondence, interviews, articles and notes, lectures and speeches, photographs, and audiovisual materials that document his life as a journalist, writer, and commentator on international affairs. They also include the papers of his wife, Bertha Markoosha Fischer, an author in her own right, as well as family correspondence and papers.

Herbert Adams Gibbons was a journalist and foreign correspondent. The collection consists of materials of Gibbons' from the periods when he was a foreign correspondent (1909-1916) in Greece, Spain, Turkey and other Near Eastern countries, a serviceman with the American Expeditionary Forces in France (1917-1918), and a correspondent (1920-1931) for various American magazines in Europe, the Orient, and Africa.

Peter Grose is an editor and specialist on the history of intelligence. The Peter Grose Papers document Grose's research on Allen Dulles and the Soviet Union.

The Emmet Hughes papers document Hughes's work as a speechwriter for Dwight D. Eisenhower in the presidential campaigns of 1952 and 1956 and the first year of Eisenhower's presidency. The collection also includes notes and reviews related to the various books and articles written by Hughes, as well as general correspondence.

Arthur Krock (1886-1974) had a long and distinguished career as a journalist, working for much of his career as Washington correspondent and columnist for The New York Times. His column "In the Nation" was noted for its depth of information and analysis, especially on American politics. The Krock papers document his journalism career, especially with The New York Times, and include his correspondence, his writings, and biographical materials.

David Lawrence, Princeton Class of 1910, was an American magazine and news service founder, editor, columnist, and author. This collection contains papers of Lawrence, including correspondence with notable twentieth century figures, articles, speeches, correspondent dispatches, radio broadcast transcripts, and manuscripts for several books.

The Kennett Love Papers contain correspondence, subject files, writings, tape recordings and other material relating to the career of Love as a writer and journalist. Most of the material deals with Love's book, Suez: The Twice Fought War.

This artificial collection consists of nearly one thousand original drawings, including a significant number by Homer C. Davenport, a Hearst cartoonist, Otho Cushing, and Charles Lewis Bartholomew.

Todd S. Purdum (1959-) is a political journalist whose work has appeared in a number of publications, including Vanity Fair, The New York Times, and POLITICO. The collection is mostly comprised of Purdum's research materials on various political and cultural figures created for his work with Vanity Fair.

Consists of selected papers of Thompson, including 27 scrapbooks of clippings (1884-1941) of his columns and articles written while he worked as a Washington correspondent, a book reviewer, and an editor of the New York Times (1899-1921). Later, he became a writer in Philadelphia for the Public Ledger (1921-1922) and Commonweal (1930-1931).

The William H. Walker Cartoon Collection reflects the political climate of America during the late 19th Century and early 20th Century. Specifically, the cartoons were drawn between 1894 and 1922 for Life Magazine. While the earlier years did not encompass the quantity of cartoons of the latter years, Walker's satirical style is ever poignant. Through the use of humor, Walker directs attention towards such topics as war, immigration and domestic politics.

The World Press Freedom Committee records document the activities of the WPFC, 1978-2009. The collection consists of project files, meeting minutes, files of the coordinating committee, correspondence, and publications. It includes the files of co-founder George Beebe, European Representative Ronald Koven, and executive director Dana Bullen. Files from 2000-2009 are largely in electronic format.